We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,763)
Filter reviews
1,763 results
Traveler rating
440
560
403
209
151
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
560
403
209
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle view room windsor castle goswell house directly opposite the castle car park high street train station fantastic location cream tea course dinner large room hotel restaurant lovely room full english guard brasserie pounds
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 1,763 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

The room was clean but the hot tap in the sink, turned all the way round rather than letting water out. The sink also had a large crack in it. The bottom of the bathroom door was broken and needed painting and the heater/cooler was not working. If windows were left open, it was too noisy and the room was very hot. Breakfast service was slow as it appeared to be one person seating people and topping up food etc. However the restaurant for lunch offered good value food.

Room tip: Avoid rooms looking over the castle as they are too noisy.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrsjoan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here yesterday for a wedding reception. Staff were all very friendly and the location is great. The buffet was top notch and so was hall that the reception took place in...very grand. Would’ve got five stars but for the lack of staff at the bar (one most of the time for 100+ guests?!) and very poor selection of drinks on tap.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank matt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Trip advisor reviews made us anxious about what we would find. George on reception was most helpful when we phoned about rooms for older people and gave us a friendly welcome. We had a large room at the back of the hotel which was quiet, had a sofa and an easy chair as well as a king size bed. Spotless bathroom with good toiletries and large bath towels. We had curries in the worryingly quiet restaurant but they were tasty and generous. Good selection for breakfast whether continental or full so what with the excellent location it is more than adequate and rather less expensive than nearby hotels. Yes, you have quite a walk to the car park by the railway station where we paid around £16 for 48 hours which was acceptable and you can drop luggage off at the door first. The hotel offers earplugs which you might need if your room looks on to the castle and main street. We would happily stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

The title sums it up. Won't going back. Best avoided.

Had to (painfully) walk staff member through how to make our son's sandwich and arrived wrong after a long wait.

Scones for afternoon tea were ok but sandwiches can't have been fresh since they were stale.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank mdhowells79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Hotel situated opposite the castle with good view of the walls from the dining room. Friendly staff easily able to accommodate us as the restaurant was not very busy. Service was good and the food was OK but not particularly memorable although reasonable value. Was a little surprised that the bill included a service charge (11% from memory) which was not a problem but under the total was a large box labelled 'Gratuity' which I thought was a bit cheeky. Perhaps this is a common practice south of the Watford Gap or maybe I just don't get out enough?

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews