We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$163
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$210
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Oakley Court(Windsor)
US$219
US$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Inn(Eton)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crown And Cushion Inn(Eton)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Langton House(Windsor)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$409
Legoland Windsor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,071)
Filter reviews
3,071 results
Traveler rating
2,093
703
192
63
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,093
703
192
63
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingcupcakesopposite the castlelovely hotelcar parkhigh streetperfect locationcooked breakfastmini barweekend breakwould highly recommend this hotellovely touchexecutive roomfantastic staylovely roombreakfast was excellentstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 3,071 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018

I've stayed here several times over the years and always had a comfortable and convenient experience. PAing is an issue in central Windsor and the system here works as well as any. The hotel is ideally situated for the Castle and Peascod street. The staff are great, the rooms comfortable and the facilities very nice. Plenty of close by dining and entertainment.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank johnB6501VB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodiePhil101, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you so much for your positive review. Feedback is very important to us as it helps us focus on continuing to do the good things consistently, and focus on the areas that need improvement. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Best regards, Philip Lewis, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2018

£2000 per night for weekend or wedding. Cashing in on greed I will be voting with my feet and never stay here again. I appreciate it’s an event but surely this is a bad reflection of the hotel. I hope people think twice before booking

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
2  Thank T440YSmichaelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodiePhil101, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you for sharing your views on Trip Advisor. I note your comments regarding the Royal Wedding. We have 6 rooms in the hotel that have balconies that overlook the High Street. These would have to be some of the best views in Windsor to witness a historuc moment (see facebook). These suites sold upwards of the price you mentioned for the Friday which gave guests a chance to be in the prime location as the procession went past. Aside from the suites we also have an additional 114 bedrooms that were available at a price to suit most budgets. The wedding has been the biggest event in Windsors modern history and people travelled from all over the globe to be here and soak up the atmosphere. I for one thought the price of the rooms offered exceptional value for money and the guests that stayed in the rooms thought the same. Hope fully you will reconsider and come back and visit soon. Best regards. Phil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

From the moment you enter the hotel a warm welcome is given.Valet parking is efficient if expensive and you know your car is safe.The bedroom was comfortable with a large bed and good bathroom.Fresh milk is available if you wish for your bedroom tea tray also a coffee maker.Breakfasts are excellent.I cannot fault anything in our three night stay.Location is first class for castle

Stayed: May 2018
Thank stibbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodiePhil101, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Many thanks for your recent review. Positive feedback helps us to remain consistent. Hopefully see you again soon. Best regards, Philip Lewis, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Parking is a major challenge in England’s lodging, as cities date from times of horses and mules. Remember to book parking, if needed, when you book your room. Then, when you find the hotel, which is just opposite Windsor Castle, pull in front for a moment, while you rapidly check in. We were given a map to the Hotel Car Park with inscrutable directions, which we followed with difficulty. It also has a Post Code, SL4 1DL, which you can insert in your GPS, to easily guide you. Just inside on the right is an intercom, which allows you to call the valet who will respond, park the car and deliver your bags to the room. Agree with the other good comments. Major problem was that the room was too warm. The porter told us to “ignore” the air conditioner component on the thermostat, as that “really didn’t work.” Staff was helpful and outstanding. We were allowed to keep our car in the car-park with our bags after check-out, while we toured Windsor Castle. If not for the temperature problem, rating would have been a Five.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodiePhil101, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you for your balanced review. I was pleased that overall your stay was a positive one, but understand there are a few things for us to work on. I have raised your points with the management team, and together we will endeavour to improve on them. I hope that these isolated incidents don’t prevent you from returning soon. Yours sincerely, Philip Lewis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel right across the street from Windsor Castle. Centrally located near shops and cafes. Friendly and attentive staff. Rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. Shower was very impractical, completely flooded the bathroom.Food was decent, breakfast pastries were delicious. All in all, a great choice if you are looking from something close to the castle.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank morganlh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodiePhil101, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you so much for your positive review. Feedback is very important to us as it helps us focus on continuing to do the good things consistently, and focus on the areas that need improvement. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Best regards, Philip Lewis, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews