We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Mexican restaurant I’ve ever tried, if not one of the best restaurants overall.”
Review of Tinga

Tinga
Ranked #2 of 187 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$50
Description: Tinga is an independently owned Mexican bar and restaurant in Salisbury city centre. Our immersive dining experience is one you will not forget, making you feel like you’ve been transported to a very beautiful Comida Corrida in the trendy area of Juárez district, Mexico City.
Restaurant details
Description: Tinga is an independently owned Mexican bar and restaurant in Salisbury city centre. Our immersive dining experience is one you will not forget, making you feel like you’ve been transported to a very beautiful Comida Corrida in the trendy area of Juárez district, Mexico City.
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

From arrival to departure, nothing amiss, nothing too much to ask and the food was up there as the freshest, the tastiest and the best choices I’ve seen, even to the point I had to try the deep fried grasshoppers with guacamole and tortilla chips....WOW, they were delicious. Our party of 4 adults and a child ordered a mixture of dishes to share, food arrived promptly after the waiter explaining that all dishes are cooked fresh and will be served as soon they are finished cooking, not a single morsel of a single dish could be sniffed at, each dish screamed of freshness and flavour, all I can say is “hats off to you guys” you deserve every reward and recognition for what you have built there, we travelled from Leicester to meet family for a surprise lunch, one which your staff made perfect for us all. It certainly made the 2 and a half hour drive down worth every mile. Please continue to do what you do, others try and others fail, your staff are a credit to your ethos of ‘how to run a restaurant successfully’ thank you for a truly great afternoon. Hope to see you again soon.
And I did mean it when I said “we need you in Leicester” as our Mexican eateries consist of crappy chain restaurants with equally crappy food and service.
Oh and i must add....The Decor is stunning.
Thanks for making me want to drive over 100 mile for more food.....

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Clommouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TingaSalisbury, Owner at Tinga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Hello Clommouk

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this fabulous review! We pride ourselves on having a menu full of authentic Mexican dishes, all freshly cooked to order by our amazing chefs. We are delighted to hear you loved the Guacamole Chapulines as this is as authentic as it gets. Wow! amazing to hear how far you travelled, we are so pleased to hear that you really loved your visit! We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you again for leaving this incredible review for us!

From The Tinga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2021

Great food, with a good menu and vegetarians well catered for. Brilliant friendly service, amazing vibe, colourful decor

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank ZambianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TingaSalisbury, Owner at Tinga, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Hello ZambianTraveller,

Thank you for this very kind review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write this for us.

We do try and cater for every need and with our menu being all cooked to order and cooked fresh it does mean we can alter and adapt a lot of it to your needs.

It is a wonderfully vibrant building and we are forever updating and changing little its so hopefully next time you are in there will be something new for you to look in our extensive and colourful décor.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Thanks again, The Tinga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

What a find! The best mexican food we have had in the UK great dishes full of authentic mexican flavours. Cocktails were

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TingaSalisbury, Owner at Tinga, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Hi Michael F,

This is a great review and a wonderful read for us, we are very appreciative of this and this really helps a small independent business such as ourselves in these troubled times.

We have worked immensely hard and getting an authentically Mexican menu that is suited to our customers, so we are over the moon with this comment from you about it is the best Mexican in the UK, this honestly is astonishingly brilliant to hear.

Thank you again so much for this kind review,

We hope to see you again soon,

The Tinga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Amazing Mexican food, fantastic cocktails and super friendly staff. What more could you want? If you go (and you should) you should try the pineapple and cinnamon margarita - one of the best cocktails I’ve ever had.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank patrickmc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TingaSalisbury, Owner at Tinga, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Hiya patrickmc123

This is an incredible review and I cannot tell you how overjoyed we are that you have left this here for us, we are really are truly thankful.

The fact you have said that Tinga is the best thing about Salisbury truly is a wonderful thing to hear and I hope you know how much it means to us as a business,

We have spent a lot of time and effort into trying to create the best food and drinks menus and we are constantly updating them to give our customers the best and most authentic experience, we are super happy you enjoyed them both so much.

The Pineapple and Cinnamon Margarita is an absolute favourite of mine as well, it is the perfect blend of flavours that give a wonderful drink that packs a punch.

Honestly cannot thank you enough for this review, we hope to see you in the near future,

Thanks again

The Tinga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

Lovely cocktails and great food. One of the best places in Salisbury, they couldn't seat us right away (we didn't book) so we chilled in the bar for half an hour before we got seated and the decor is really something to see. 5 stars would eat there again

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank MegofRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TingaSalisbury, Owner at Tinga, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Hello MegofRoth,

Thank you for leaving this lovely review for us, we truly appreciate you taking the time to leave this great review for us.

We are so happy you chose to dine with us, and enjoyed it so very much. We do put a lot of effort into the décor and it is constantly updated so it is slightly different almost every time you come back.

Thank you again for leaving this review, it means a lot to us as we are a small independent business going through this torrid time, but we very much hope to see you again and see you enjoying more cocktails and food.

Thanks again, the Tinga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinga also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Tinga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.