We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better ”

Miller & Carter Leeds Light
Ranked #238 of 2,280 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$66
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving up its painstakingly sourced menu of succulent steak dishes, Miller & Carter is devoted to all things beef. Alongside delicious cuts from the grill, the diverse menu includes build-your-own burgers, market-fresh fish dishes and a range of tempting nibbles. Chilled draught beers, cooling cocktails and an extensive list of tipples are found behind the bar, or guests can choose from the well-stocked wine cellar.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Well it started badly by the waiter informing us that they had no ribeye steak - in a steak restaurant!!!! Anyway, the steak we did get was very good despite being let down by poor presentation - salads with brown edges and what I think was some kind of corn in mushy sauce. The bit of onion loaf (?) that comes with the steak is revolting and should be taken off to menu. So, great steak but the eating experience could be a lot better with a little attention to detail.

Thank VeitchB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCleedsmanager, General Manager at Miller & Carter Leeds Light, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience on this visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We popped in to have some nice steak for lunch. We were very satisfied. The food was excellent and portions filling. Our server Piers was pleasant and attentive but not overbearing. Nice, clean restaurant. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ΣΟΦΙΑ Κ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCleedsmanager, General Manager at Miller & Carter Leeds Light, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Sunday was the first time since my daughter's birth that we could get out for a steak.

We've been wanting to go to M&C since they first opened in Glasgow. Now that we finally go, it's at the Leeds venue?!

This is a steak house so vegans & veggies aren't going to want to know.

The menu is not extensive but that's a blessing. This is a steak place focussing on really good beef in all the possible cuts and just done really well.

We really enjoyed the bone marrow bonbons. They were coated in a crisp shell but full of a rich, almost creamy, filling. They come served on a simple salad with some oil and a fresh mayonnaise type sauce. Unbelievably the thing I really was impressed with...the salad tasted so fresh and crisp?!?!?

We also had the prawns...they were tasty pan fried prawns. To me they were nice but nothing to write home about.

My steak choice; T-bone cooked medium. Perfect cook, really tasty beef and served with a porcini mushroom sauce. The sauce was excellent. Sadly my wife and I both picked the same sauce (distracted by the baby so missed an opportunity to mix it up).

All the steaks come with lettuce wedge, fries, tomato and onion loaf. The fries were decent but I could have gone without. The tomato was decoration and didn't really add anything. Onion loaf...well that was great. Again though, the lettuce wedge was just so fresh! (Like the steak sauces, the lettuce has a choice of dressings).

It was a great meal out, with a glass of wine and a cocktail each to soak up the beef.

We were served by Piers. Polite, professional and massively helpful with us and our baby.

The only thing stopping a 5 star rating...chain restaurant. I just can't bring myself to give a 5 to a chain.

Will definitely go back though.

Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCleedsmanager, General Manager at Miller & Carter Leeds Light, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thankyou for your review, I'm pleased you had a great meal. I will pass on your comments to both Piers and the Kitchen. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2018

booked this resteraunt meal for our granddaughters honours celebration we were not disappointed good service decent prices ie beer wine and food .i cannot comment on the starters but rest of the party said they were very tasty.the steaks were cooked to all of our different tastes i can say mine was one of the best i have had, the sweet course was good also i would certainly dine here again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank biffoLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCleedsmanager, General Manager at Miller & Carter Leeds Light, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks for your great review. We hope to see you again soon, Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

First visit to a Miller and Carter Steakhouse and probably the last. Service was slow, even though it wasn’t busy when we went in. The food was over priced and portion size small, very little on the plates. What we had was ok , but for the price it needs to be a little better than that. Had two courses and still felt hungry. Drinks also overpriced. Disappointing really, there are certainly cheaper places that are better.

Thank Andrea062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCleedsmanager, General Manager at Miller & Carter Leeds Light, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

I apologise for the service you received and have passed on your comments to the team to ensure this doesn't happen again, Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller & Carter Leeds Light also viewed

 

Been to Miller & Carter Leeds Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing