We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Could be better.

First problem was parking. Could not find an empty disabled space so had to park at far end of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Peter C
,
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Festive treat

Our first visit since the building work has been completed which has lead to a much more expansive... read more

Reviewed today
David R
,
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Read all 824 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bradford
from US$70.44
More Info
from US$535.10
More Info
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveler rating
337
225
88
66
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
337
225
88
66
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews play area grass hoppers per child farm shop bon marche afternoon tea coffee shop hot food jacket potato cakes be visiting again well worth a visit lovely place plants grasshopper santa pillows
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2021 via mobile

We booked for a weekend brunch with our young children as a treat - on previous visits to Tong we thought the restaurant looks lovely.

On arrival we explained that our son has coeliac disease so can’t eat gluten and were told that’s fine, they have gluten free options on the menu which is great.

We waited well over an hour then were told he couldn’t have sausages as they contained gluten. No problem, we were happy to substitute this with bacon and were happy they’d double checked the menu. About another ten minutes later they then brought out our meals - his meal had wheat toast placed on top of his food!

We explained again that he is coeliac so he can’t eat wheat and the meal needed to be changed and they did - after about a minute they brought out the plate and told us they replaced it - however clearly they had just taken the gluten toast off!! This is so poor - cross contamination is really dangerous! By this point we just wanted to get out of there, we’d been there well over one and a half hours with very young and very fed-up children! My husband wrote an email to Tong to raise this concern about their allergy management but received no answer, they clearly aren’t bothered.

So - over an hour wait, heavily peppered scrambled eggs given to children who couldn’t eat it, some brunch items missing from the plate and extremely poor allergen management. Give this place a miss!!

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank Jopes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team T, Manager at Tong Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon, many thanks for your feedback. Firstly, please accept our sincere apologies for your experience in The Mezzanine, we’re extremely disappointed that we weren’t able to provide a great customer experience on this particular occasion. We do take allergies extremely seriously and our team are fully trained to be able to handle allergy queries and requests so it’s concerning to hear of your experience over the weekend. We have asked our catering manager to investigate the issue to understand why this happened and to ensure the error is not repeated. We are aware of the email that your husband sent and we have sent two emails in response without reply. We do find that emails sent from our domain can be directed in the junk folder so we would always recommend checking there. However, If you could please email us again with a contact telephone number, our catering manager would like to get in touch to discuss this matter further. Again, please accept our sincere apologies. We hope you feel like you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2021 via mobile

This review is just for the Mezzanine cafe, which I have to say was dreadful. Ok, it’s Saturday at 2pm, it’s busy, the bell is ringing from the kitchen constantly, the staff behind the pass asking fir service but no response. 3 members of staff looking puzzled at their devices and a few others clearing tables.
It looked chaotic as we were waiting to be seated.
After waiting for about 15 minutes after being seated, we asked a waitress if we could order and she said she’d send someone over, who, after a few more minutes eventually came.
We ordered for myself, my husband and our teenage son who is Autistic and usually ok when we go out eat. However, after about another 20 minutes, his food arrived but with nothing else and when I asked about the rest she said it was just coming.
Our son can’t eat without having a drink so we sat for a while waiting patiently for the drinks and rest of the food to arrive. But after about another 5 minutes I stopped the waitress again asking if our drinks could come and she said again that they were just coming. But again, nothing came and I could see our son beginning to look uneasy.
So I went up to the drinks counter myself and begged for his drink just so we could avoid a meltdown and wasted food. I had to almost dramatise the consequences before she handed me a drink.
Anyway, our food and the coffees arrived but we were missing milk and a a coke, and my husbands food order was wrong but he just chose to take it as it was fearing another long wait.
When we asked for the Bill, it took another 10 minutes to arrived.
So, to summarise, service here is in serious need of an overhaul, either retrain or add staff, whatever it is, it’s needed, because the food was actually delicious. But I’d rather have gone to McDonalds.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank william200200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team T, Manager at Tong Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, our team really appreciate it as we are continually aiming to improve our experience. We're sorry you feel so disappointed with the level of service you received during your visit to The Mezzanine - we never meant to cause any upset. We are often praised on our level of service, with our staff going the extra mile to make our guests feel extremely welcome, especially so during extremely busy times of the year. However, we completely understand that all drinks should be brought to your before your meal and your feedback has already prompted our team to review their serving process and ensure that the correct procedures are in place going forward. Due to the current issues with staff shortages in hospitality, we are currently working with those challenges which will have contributed to the delay in service, however, we would like to reassure you that we are working tirelessly to recruit additional and in the process of providing our current team additional training to ensure we are consistently achieving the standards that our customers expect of us. We’re once again sorry that you feel so disappointed with you visit and hope that this experience doesn’t stop you from visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

Tong just blows the competition out of the water with choice, service and prices.
After a disappointing visit to ACW in Bradford a fortnight ago due to the rude owner? Manager? (Definitely won’t be going back there again ) It was a really enjoyable trip to Tong Garden Centre.
From the wonderful Christmas display to the vast array of plants , lovely cafe and food/clothes section this was a great few hours .
Stopped off for a drink and cake break in the cafe. The staff were really friendly , highly efficient and everything was to a high standard.
There really is something for everyone and we’ll worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank U8272NHdavec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team T, Manager at Tong Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer us such wonderful feedback - we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Tong. We're always so pleased to hear such positive comments regarding our staff and we can't wait to welcome you and your family back in store again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2021

Visited to take grandchildren to the play area and was so impressed. We had drinks on the mezzanine and they had toast and fruit, menu showed exactly what was dairy free which was great for us. The children loved the Christmas displays and feeding the fish whilst we waited for their play session. Play areas are excellent, clean and not too crowded, changing facilities are immaculate and so useful with toilet cubicles that have space to move around in. Booking was easy on line except we weren’t able to book the music session but this was resolved with an email to grasshoppers. In fact the music session was the only disappointment. Barely 15 minutes of two women singing with the children, a couple of songs with music instruments and a picture to colour. Would be much better if the leaders of the session were able to use makaton signs to the songs.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank Happycampist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team T, Manager at Tong Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2021

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback - we really do appreciate it. We're sorry you were disappointed with our Musical Fun activity - your comments have been passed onto our team to review. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in store and for playtime again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2021

The Tong Garden Center has an open sewer which pollutes every field down stream from the center. The local beck Peters Shrog is black with human waste and smells sickly. Its an absolute disgrace. Animals in the area have left or are dead. The environment created by Tong Garden Center is a dead zone. The local beck eventually runs into the River Aire. Bradford Council, The Green Party, The Telegraph and Argus newspaper have all been informed of the environmental damage caused by the Tong Garden Center. I strongly recommend any sane person boycotts Tong Garden Center until they clear up the filth they have created.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank philipsP357RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team T, Owner at Tong Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Good morning, thank you for your feedback/ We took over at Tong Garden Centre six years ago and one of the first improvements we made was to completely upgrade the foul drainage system for the site which was not fit for purpose. The new system is designed and operated to EA standards under an EA permit. We have a regular maintenance programme whereby the system and discharge are checked and emptied routinely. We confirm that everything is running as it should be so we are very confident that we are not the cause of the issue. If we can help in any way then please don’t hesitate to get in touch. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews