We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of our 4 night stay in the area”
Review of Crown and Anchor

Crown and Anchor
Ranked #40 of 237 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our passion for local produce at the Crown and Anchor is at the heart of everything that we do. In order to bring you the freshest possible seafood, we write a daily menu dictated by what our local boats have landed that morning. Whether it be Dover Sole, landed in Bracklesham Bay by the Crew of the Kraken, or fresh lobster picked by the Crew of the Toby Rock...we can guarantee that almost all of our fish hasn’t traveled far from the sea to your plate. Our drinks range centres around the real ales that we are proud to call Young’s own; we also have a range of seasonal guests and a wine list that encompasses all tastes as far as grapes, origin and style goes. For the drivers and health conscious, we’re frequently expanding our soft drink range and there’s always teas and coffees on offer too.
Reviewed 24 August 2021

Friendly efficient staff and a delicious meal of soused herring, turbot, samphire and new potatoes followed by lemon tart with clotted cream. I couldn’t fault it. Thank you.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown A, General Manager at Crown and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent visit and 5 star review.

It is great to hear you had a faultless experience ! Its a pleasure to read such a lovely review about the team and the food.

We look forward to you visiting again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2021

I’d heard such wonderful things about this pub. We were celebrating a special birthday and were given a fabulous table with a great view. Our waitress Victoria was friendly and welcoming. Sadly the good experience ended there. We had to ask 3 times for drinks and waited over an hour and a half for our main courses. Most concerning was an overheard conversation of a member of staff being tracked and traced for the coronavirus but still expected to work by Youngs. Hospitality has been hit hard but insisting you keep a restaurant open despite the risk to staff and customers is unacceptable! Sadly the desire to earn a buck from over worked kitchen and waiting staff has backfired with a very bad experience and review. Shame on you Youngs we thought better of you.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank langshott02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown A, General Manager at Crown and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for joining us and taking the time to provide feedback from your recent visit. I am disappointed to hear about your experience and I apologise for the delay on your food. We did acknowledge the unusual long wait on food and drink which was picked up on your visit and reflected on the final bill.

I would also like to apologise for any concern over the misheard communication. Please know that myself and my team are doing everything possible to ensure the health and safety of our customers and ourselves, including required isolation and testing.

Please do give me a call if you have any questions or would like to discuss your visit further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

Met some friends here for a catch-up and arrived early, was told to sit at a table next to the car park. So we moved from a table next to he waterfront which apparently was reserved (but was not displaying a reserved sign)
Bought a pint and a large white wine which came to £17.10. Don’t get me wrong - I have no problem with paying for quality in nice surroundings; the drinks were average and the surroundings were not pleasant (dirty tables, food waste and rubbish on ground, unkempt and poorly maintained seats/benches/tables, a tired and outdated appearance and atmosphere)
I do, however, have a problem with being ripped off.

We met up with our friends and sat in a small “pod” next to the main entrance, (which happened to be the main route taken by staff and customers alike) ordered our meals (burger, fish n chips, hake burger and crab linguine)
These took over 40 minutes to arrive, and were OK but nothing to write home about. (I’ve had better burgers at half the price, and my wife’s fish was tasty but over oily.) If the food hadn’t taken so long to arrive she would have sent it back.

On the positive side - our server was a delight - friendly, bubbly and engaging.
I’m afraid I didn’t catch her name, which is regrettable. Also dogs were very welcome and there were plenty around.

On the whole we were disappointed with the Crown and Anchor mainly because they think they are way better than they actually are and as such a complete rip off.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank trainernik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

We booked for 14 people outside many weeks ago. Weather looking bad so changed to inside on the day.
Wonderful welcome. Food was piping hot and really delicious. Service was wonderful. Thank you so much.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown A, General Manager at Crown and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent visit and 5 star review.

It is great to hear you had a faultless experience ! Its a pleasure to read such a lovely review about the team and the food.

We look forward to you visiting again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

Visited with 3 young kids, had lunch in on of the outdoor ‘pods’. Everything was delightful, excellent fish, and the kids really enjoyed their burgers. Chips exceptional, and the veg (samphire and Padron peppers) cooked and seasoned to perfection. Service friendly and prompt. Bill was v reasonable too.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Passenger56853186816
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown A, General Manager at Crown and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent visit and review.

It is great to read such a glowing review complimenting the food, service and our outside pods.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown and Anchor also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Crown and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.