We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

pentahotel Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$94
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$59
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
US$74
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$69
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston Hostel(Birmingham)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Prince Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,162)
Filter reviews
2,162 results
Traveler rating
1,431
547
112
43
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,431
547
112
43
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcity centrenew streetnew st stationthyme restaurantarriving by trainexcellent locationmeal dealchristmas marketshopping tripbreakfast staffbull ringgood nights sleepnight's sleepgerman marketexcellent staycomfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
1,086 - 1,091 of 2,162 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed three nights during the Birmingham Christmas Market and we loved it.

Location is perfect - walk out of the station and it's right there. It's blended in like a shop so you can just walk in but you can only access lift and stairs with your card so that's a good aspect of safety and security.

Breakfast is good with a good choice of foods. Staff are friendly and helpful but they can get overwhelmed. During checkin there was a big queue as the machines didn't work so one lady had to manage all customers in quick succession.

Rooms are lovely. Could be slightly bigger (I've stayed at Hampton by Hilton and they were bigger) but they are cosy and very good value for money. Clean, good bed shower tables window etc. You could see the market from our window which was wonderful. Good freeview tv.

Wi-fi logged out often and it would take you a few moments to log back in but the speed was good and no real connectivity issues. Could be faster - you can upgrade to paid wifi but we didn't.

Market itself is wonderful and needs a whole other review. Other things to do are classic city-break things: plenty of great restaurants. There was a ferris wheel, cinema (to watch star wars!!) Ice skating and several shopping centres.

Overall, loved our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timpX7784KV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Hi timpX7784KV
We`re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst visiting the sights here in Birmingham and thank you for writing a review of your stay ! Your compliments will be passed on to all members of the team ,we look forward to welcoming you again soon .
Kind regards
Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We were surprised how quiet this hotel was given that it was in the centre of Birmingham, right on top of Grand Central (it's located on the pedestrian ramp that leads into Grand Central - ignore the map on the website or you'll never find it!)
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean. It's very central for the shops, the train station and the Barclaycard arena area.
Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clea2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Hi clea2003
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us ,and we`re pleased that you enjoyed our quiet tranquil hotel!
We look forward to having you come to stay with us again soon .
Kind regards
Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We stayed here for one night as we were attending the Panto at the Hippodrome, the welcome was very friendly and check in speedy. We stayed on the 3rd floor, the room was tidy and very clean and plenty of room for the 4 of us. I was a little worried about bedtime as it's in the main area near the station and all the shops, but i needn't have fret about it, we didn't hear very much at all and slept quite well. Our room rate was excellent it was £66 including breakfast for all 4 of us. Breakfast was nice, and plenty to choose from, all the staff here are very friendly and helpful, as i say i can't fault it at all.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMFAN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2015

Hi DMFAN2
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel it is very much appreciated ! We are pleased that youy enjoyed both your stay and breakfast with us .We look forward to you visiting us again soon .
Kind regards
Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2015

The usual well appointed rooms, very clean, friendly staff, so why the "average" rating? Unfortunately, and surprising for a new hotel, this building has an Achilles heel which spoils the experience: there are only two lifts to service all the floors. Reception, which is a couple of floors up, can only be reached by the lift until you have checked-in and obtained a key card. Even if both lifts were operating there would be delays, but the left hand one of the two seems to be permanently awaiting a service. Once inside the hotel everything else is fine but if you stay here be prepared for quite long delays getting in!

Room Tip: Views get better on the higher floors BUT lower floors allow use of the stairs to avoid the slow lift service.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkFolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2015

Hi SuffolkFolkie
Your feedback is extremely important to us so thank you very much for taking the time to tell us a little bit about your stay. Please accept our apologies for any delays caused due to the lifts .The extra added security system with the lifts being key sensored means that you only have access to the floor that your room has been allocated to .You do not need a key card to gain access to the reception ,restaurant or bar area.We are glad thast you enjoyed your stay with us ,your kind comments will be passed on to all the team we look forward to welcoming you again soon .
Kind regards
Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Recently stopped here with my husband and 2 children. Rooms was huge and kids loved the wifi - no moans at all about it being too slow. Room as I say was fantastic, modern and very clean. I thought being in the middle of Birmingham it would be scraggy but it wasnt at all. I think the parking is overpriced, as is the breakfast and dinner but there is a McDonald's underneath so bonus for brekkie. For dinner we were going around the German Market in any event so didn't really affect us at all. Check in was great and lady very helpful. I would defo go back !

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2015

Hi Angie
Thanks for your review of our hotel ,we`re pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us ,it will be a pleasure to have you come to stay again soon.
Kind regards
Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews