We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait but gorgeous food”

Browns Brasserie & Bar
Ranked #114 of 2,409 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$40
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set against the elegant backdrop of St Martin’s Square, Browns Birmingham is part of the thriving new restaurant scene at Spiceal Street. Where better to begin sampling the Second City’s eating-out revolution?.Whether at work or play, Browns offers a uniquely relaxing atmosphere. Unwind over a plate of freshly cooked, modern food. Start your weekend in style with one of our expertly mixed cocktails. Or reward the day’s efforts with a glass of what you fancy from our well-chosen wine and beer range
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Visited here recently for my mothers birthday celebrations. We were a party of 5 and had booked a table for 8pm. I had requested a table upstairs if possible. Upon arrival we were quickly greeted by a very friendly and welcoming member of staff who informed us that if we still wanted a table upstairs we would have to wait a little. We agreed to this and decided to have drinks in the bar.

We were checked on around 20 minutes later and told the table upstairs which would be ours were still not finished and we could either wait longer or have a table downstairs immediately- we still wanted to sit upstairs as we had hoped it would be a little quieter (quite noisy downstairs).

Even though we had made the choice to wait we were given free snacks to the table in the bar to apologise for the delay- very impressed with this.

We were checked on again at around 9pm and told the table upstairs was still not available, as we were quite hungry at this point we agreed to just take one downstairs. Only grumble about this was we were sat near a table with 3 very noisy young children on who were being allowed to shout and run around a lot- quite annoying but gladly after 20 minutes or so they left.

The food was absolutely fantastic- all courses ordered were pure perfection. Cannot say how good it was! Service very good, friendly staff and very helpful.
Can't wait to return again!

    • Service
    • Food
Thank f1debs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

F1debs2014, we are so happy to read such a great review about Browns Birmingham! Thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Browns Birmingham! We hope to see you soon!

Kindest regards,
Ranjit and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

great atmosphere, excellent service, highly recommended, great food and amazing afternoon tea with friends

Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Janet M, we are so happy to read such a great review about Browns Birmingham! We hope to see you soon!

Kindest regards,
Ranjit and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

we had traditional breakfasts which were great.... service very friendly and fast.... the food excellent.... really nothing not to like here

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Alan, thank you so much for your positive comments about Browns Birmingham! We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Hannah and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing meal. Great service too, the waiter (Rob) was very attentive and engaging. A credit to the team

Thank Lewis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Lewis P, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Rob will be so pleased to hear your kind comments!
We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hannah and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Every meal I have had here is excellent, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner or afternoon tea, it is always superb. Lovely atmosphere and polite friendly staff. Excellent value for money too

1  Thank Dtan226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dtan226, we are so happy to read such a great review about Browns Birmingham! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Hannah and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Brasserie & Bar also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Browns Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing