We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,123)
Filter reviews
1,123 results
Traveler rating
448
412
171
49
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
412
171
49
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wet room jewellery quarter no window rooms are small city centre vending machine windowless room st paul's square monsoon shower nearby ncp jam house storage space comfy bed air con short stay bedside table great shower
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 1,123 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Me and my partner were visiting our family for a wedding in Birmingham and thought we were have an extra night in birmingham before returning back to devon, Found bloc on booking.com, Lovely customer service when arriving alot earlier then the agreed check in time, the receptionist asked if we were like to leave our bags until the room was ready and directed us to the car park we would receive discount for staying at the bloc. The room was small but amazing, very comfy beds and amazing power shower. Was a wet room and would recommend asking for a couple of extra towels so you don't have a wet floor. Very quiet stay and a excellent curry house up the road from the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Great review, thank you. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2015

A second stay here was as excellent as the first. Firstly, £82 for two nights is an excellent price for this almost boutique hotel. It is very modern, comfortable and surprisingly cosy. We chose a room without a window again; partly because its cheaper and because its more cosy. The king size bed is extremely comfortable and the TV is positioned perfectly for those late nights and late mornings lazing in bed.
The hotel is based on Japanese modular design, and hence the rooms aren't particularly huge. There isn't much room for hanging clothes, but there is space under the bed for storage. The shower room is the best bit, this is a wet room and the shower head is built into the ceiling to give you an awesome shower. The only downside is everything gets soaked!
The room has great facilities, SMART TV and air con are part of the mod cons.
Overall this was an excellent stay. The location is in a modern area of the Jewellery quarter, a mere 10 minute walk from the city centre, or a nicer, yet longer, walk down the canal via Brindley Place. The reception and housekeeping staff are really pleasant and very welcoming.

Stayed: August 2015
2  Thank robj_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

I think a lot of people will find reading your review very helpful when selecting a hotel to stay at when in Birmingham. I'm pleased to hear your second stay at BLOC Birmingham was as good as the first.
You mention in your review that the only downside with the wet room is that everything gets soaked. Please don't hesitate to ask reception for more towels on arrival to help with this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Love my room, the bed was so comfy, everything spotless. The staff could not have been any nicer or helpful. Ten minute's walk from the city centre and a lovely Chinese round the corner :) Hotel was quiet aswell, slept like a log...defo return to the Bloc! Thank you to the wonderful staff who helped me with directions, travel arrangements and were to eat...lovely people.

Room Tip: I stayed four nights and found it a bit much on the fourth night not to have a room with a window. But up until then it didn't bother me.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alsun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for your kind review of BLOC Hotel Birmingham and its employees you encountered during your stay. Your comments will be passed onto the team.
Hopefully, we look forward to welcoming you back to BLOC Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2015

I regularly stay here on business trips and think it's a great place if you are just using your room to sleep in. The rooms are quite small and dark so it's not somewhere to hang out and there is no space to do work or anything and double rooms are really only fit for one person. But the showers are in a wet room style with an enormous waterfall shower which is lovely after a long day of meetings and it has always been immaculately clean. They provide a 'grab and go' breakfast option which is fairly good with a croissant, banana, granola, juice and a hot drink. I'd love to see coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms as you have to pay £1 to get a hot drink from a machine downstairs and it's not a great cuppa but overall it's fit for purpose for business stopovers. It's also in a really great location close to the colmore business district and the jewellery quarter so it's easy to walk to the city centre for shops and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for your review. I think people who have never stayed at BLOC Hotel Birmingham will find your review really useful to read and it will help make their choice when selecting a hotel to stay in Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Very good location in a pleasant part of Birmingham, plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants nearby (Urban Coffee in the Jewellery Quarter is good, and Lasan, just round the corner, is an excellent Indian restaurant, albeit not a cheap one).

Only about a 20 minute walk into the town centre, a few minutes more to New St station.

It's no frills so you are not paying for a big room, minibars etc, and the rooms are very tight for two with a minimum of storage space, but if you just want somewhere yo sleep and not pay for amenities you probably won't use, it's fair value, and the hotel is modern and clean, and the staff friendly

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank IanSamways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews