We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,213)
Filter reviews
2,213 results
Traveler rating
700
964
373
113
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
964
373
113
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungepillow menucar parkbooked a club roomcity centrenew street stationtwo double bedsbuilding workair conbroad streetroom servicebusiness hotelmail boxcontinental breakfastbrindley placesaturday nightironing board
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,213 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were due to check in any time after 2, we arrived early so nipped next door for food to kill time. Went back about 2.45 to be told our room still wasn't ready. So we went back next door and finally managed to checked in at 4. Upon entering to room we were straight away hit with the strong smell of weed which we can only assume is caused by damp. We spent the evening out having left our window open since entering but sadly even as we came back at night it was still pungent to the point of causing a headache. Amenities were good. Shower amazing. General aesthetic of the room good. Bed was warm and comfortable. Any clothes on the floor ending absolutely stinking. We did mention the smell upon checking out and although we didn't expect much as we hadnt mentioned it earlier, the lady didnt even apologise. When we left it was just as strong smelling. I would go back possibly but not to that room.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank LilMissMeasham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSeed3, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lilmissmeasham, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our hotel, we cater to thousands of guests a week and very few let us know about their experiences so we can improve.

Please accept my apologies for the smell while you were staying, while we welcome all guests we are vigilant against anyone that disrupts the stay of other guests or breaks the law & have issued warnings, evicted guests & have even involved the police where necessary. I can see from our records there was such in incident on the 3rd floor on the weekend of the 24th March & my apologies for this, we received 1 complaint and dealt with the matter but did not hear from any other guests.


Kind Regards
David Seed
Deputy General Manager
david.seed@cpbhamcity.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mistake wrong side of the tracks for shops and nightlife. Understaffed bar, rooms are ok good relaxing chair eronomically designed. Shower tiles too dark, too claustrophobic, should be cream tiles not murky brown. Basic toiletries. Great dressing gowns. Good colour choice in rooms. Club bar lacks quality lacks atmosphere and style, very good staff.
Bar food very predictable, tasteless pasta. No razzmatazz not much atmosphere, quite soulless experience, needs to pick up as Birmingham is uk’s New York, finest city in England.

Room Tip: Depends on your preference
Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dubhstarrmarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSeed3, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dubhstarrmarketing, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our hotel, we cater to thousands of guests a week and very few let us know about their experiences so we can improve.

Thankyou for your positive comments about the staff, although my apologies if you were let down by any other parts of your experience & we till take your feedback to review ways to improve. Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can help with anything in future.


Kind Regards
David Seed
Deputy General Manager
david.seed@cpbhamcity.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here now a few times. I have always traveled for business and have had generally good experiences here. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with WiFi that is good. The gym and pool area is very good indeed. The lounge is similar to other Crowne Plazas and is always quite busy. Overall a good spot, and it couldn't be in much better of a location as it is a very short walk from New Street Station.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely return visit to this hotel. This is the third time we have been. Staff are always polite and we love the club area. However I did notice on this visit that the breakfast was not up to its usual high standard. On the Saturday morning there was no orange juice for a long time and then on Sunday there was no yogurt except natural. However overall it suited our purpose. I do wonder why the car park under the hotel is now completely shut.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank derbycouplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Nice large room with very confy bed. Clean and big bathroom also. Despite the construction works near the hotel on 9th floor we had no problem at all. Good location right in the center.

One of the staff members knocked the door and entered the room while we were on bed half asleep. For sure it was a misunderstanding. Maybe he though no one was inside.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
1  Thank p1cl3_rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews