We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Shakespeare's Schoolroom & Guildhall
from US$11.19
More Info
from US$124.50
More Info
from US$124.50
More Info
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveler rating
510
109
23
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
510
109
23
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews school room school master quill pen wall paintings excellent visit interesting building old building interesting visit great fun period costume great place to visit all ages value for money latin lesson classroom teacher
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2021

This was a great educational experience and really well put together. The exhibits were excellent and the staff knowledgeable and friendly.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank 761kevank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Lovely staff and some nice presents.
People who had done the tour we heard say they enjoyed it but we didn't have time.
We just bought gifts and the staff were lovely.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank angeladV1545FX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Again, found it by chance and glad we went in. Very friendly staff and extremely informative about Shakespeare's early schooling. We felt the history of the place and would thoroughly recommend it. We sat through a 'lesson' in the old fashioned way made me sad that standards have dropped !!

Date of experience: September 2021
1  Thank Herbglasgow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021

This was a very unexpected treat - the standard attractions, such as New Place, Ann Hathways' Cottage and so on, were all closed, but this was open - and we're so glad it turned out that way. The experience was brought wonderfully to life by knowledgeable and entertaining guides. You can sit on the very benches Shakespeare would have sat on and be chided by a gruff Shakespearean - or possibly Dickensian - schoolmaster. At the large oak table where pupils ate, hundreds have carved their initials over the years and you could read the true stories of the post-school lives of some of them on iPads. Don't leave Stratford without a visit - in fact, I'd recommend putting it top of your list.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank christinegN1813CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2021 via mobile

What a delightful surprise this guided tour was! Great value for money £10.00 Adults & £8.00 for 60’s and over, we enjoyed over 2 hours of great history delivered by a knowledgeable, engaging and interesting team. We enjoyed a professional delivery of interesting and relevant facts about Shakespeare and what life was like 600 years ago. They used humour and brought the place to life, encouraging you to use and read the information in addition to writing with quill pens and sitting on the masters big chair. It was worth every penny and will definitely return in future.

Thank Dreamer34780512615
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews