We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about..”

Marco's New York Italian Kenilworth
Ranked #32 of 67 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came for a meal and whilst it was pleasant enough it was nothing special.
Waitressed smiley but seemed a bit clueless. Same as the management; seemed more interested standing around talking than motivating the team and helping the younger staff out.
The food was nice considering how cheap the prices are, not something I was expecting from a Marcos!
This place has alot of potential to be busy and have the right atmosphere but something is severely lacking.

Thank sammysmith1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a follow up to my previous review. My wife and I were invited back to Marco's by the Manager in order to put right the experience we had on our last visit. I'd like to thank Mr W. for his efforts, he went out of his way to make sure we were happy. However, I'm going to have to mention that young waitress again. She met us at reception and seated us, no denying that she also knew who we were and what I had said in my previous review (which she obviously wasn't happy with). Her manner was surly and on reflection we should have left immediately given her unpleasant manner. I had the "Steakhouse Burger" and my wife had the Aubergine parmigiana. Mine was nice, the wife's was under-cooked, it went back to the kitchen. I wasn't going to do this review as I appreciated Mr W's efforts and I truly think that the problem lies with his staff. Dear waitress, if you can't be friendly you are in the wrong job. Dear food warmer upper, it's an Aubergine, you should be able to tell it's cooked by prodding it with a cocktail stick! I'm sorry Marco, we are not going back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Deputy General Manager at Marco's New York Italian Kenilworth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Than you for your review about your meal with us, please be soured the comments have been passed onto the Management.

Kind Regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018

My family and I went to Marcos for my Son's birthday. We had been there for his birthday last year, it was local to us and we'd had a good experience. However, this time was totally different. Firstly, I booked online, and the only slot available for 6 adults and a child, was 5 pm. It was ok but a bit early. When we got there, the restaurant was almost empty, and remained so until approx 6.30. I couldn't understand why we couldn't have booked a bit later. We ordered our drinks, 2 for 1 cocktails, and 4 of us went for the porn star martinis (the most expensive ones). We were told that there was no passion fruit liqueur, so had to re-order. We were then told that there were no burgers available. That didn't bother us as nobody wanted one. Then we ordered gluten free pasta for my granddaughter, which they had, but the staff only realised after speaking to the chef, that the meatballs weren't gluten free, so it was back to the menu. I had the trio of bruschetta as a starter. The mushrooms were cold and the avocado was freezing. The next course was the sharing platter for two, which included chicken wings (which were overcooked and bland), pork ribs (lukewarm), and a piece of chicken breast with pulled pork etc on top. As the breast had bones in, it was difficult to divide up. The coleslaw had been put on a hot plate, so was lukewarm. Lastly, I had a chocolate brownie, which had cold and solid chocolate in it. My son's dessert can only be described as a blended, yoghurt type milkshake with a lump of cheesecake balanced on top of the glass. I had asked for some kind of birthday recognition, but it didn't happen. By this point though, I was ready to go. We took the service charge off the bill, but still paid a decent tip. That was just out of courtesy. We won't be going back in a hurry, which is a shame, because it used to be so good. I think Marco would be disappointed.....and slightly embarrassed to put his name to it.

2  Thank Cookie540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Deputy General Manager at Marco's New York Italian Kenilworth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, please can you contact our Restaurant Manager on restmgr@hi-kenilworth.com as he would like to discuss your experience with you.

Thank you

Kind Regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018

Was not expecting to be blown away it is after all a hotel restaurant but I struggle to find anything enjoyable about my visit last night. Warm beer, lemon in my water looked like it had a lipstick stain on it, tomato salad starter was very bland and questioned whether some of the tomatoes were last weeks as they were soft to say the least. Thought the steak would redeem them but sadly my medium rare steak was an ash grey and cooked through completely, sweet potato fries were burnt, I could go on. I will say tho the wait staff were very polite and were doing the best they could and were very apologetic. Would not recommend,

Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Deputy General Manager at Marco's New York Italian Kenilworth, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Thank you for your feedback about your recent meal with us, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal, I do hope that you spoke to our Manager on Duty about this, we would have replaced the dishes if you were not satisfied with what you were served. Your comments have been passed onto the teams to review.

Kind Regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

Located in the Holiday Inn in Kenilworth we treated ourselves with an Afternoon Tea with the kids.

Location is good, well decorated and quite nice. staff are friendly however we were the only ones in there as it was early so would have expected them to be a little more attentive. We asked the boys to find the staff as we needed cutlery or a chocolate icing ( to decorate kids cookies) had dried out.

The adults tea was made up of a tray of fridge cold, drying sandwiches and lots
of cakes.

Could have done with some savoury than the amount of cakes... also drying, nothing seemed fresh.

In paying the staff told us they had already added the tip, but they could take it off if we wanted... I wasn’t impressed.

Shame, because the place looks nice, but food and service just went up to scratch.

Thank devp1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, Deputy General Manager at Marco's New York Italian Kenilworth, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Thank you for your review, I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us and please be assured that this is being looked into by the Restaurant Manager and Head Chef.

Kind Regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco's New York Italian Kenilworth also viewed

Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to Marco's New York Italian Kenilworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing