We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food fast servxie”
Review of The Botanist

The Botanist
Ranked #116 of 1,355 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: It started with a seed. An idea shared amongst friends. They imagined a secret garden, where all can enjoy the curious refreshments of nature...
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We visited her as we had a gift voucher. Took a Long time to get a booking as this place is always fully booked around 7pm, I think in the end we booked about 4 weeks in advance. The menu has a lot of vegetarian options which is a plus. Super fast service for starter, could have done wth a little more time between starter and main maybe. Staff friendly but maybe a little scripted and disinterested in your actual reply. Lovely place and got to look around as it wasn’t too busy. Would probably visit again for a drink during the week again when there is no queue as can imagine it gets very busy quickly.

Thank Lillies83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanistNCL, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi Lillies83,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We do get busy on the weekends, so if you would like to avoid all the hustle and bustle weekdays would be more suited to yourself. We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 210 of 3,883 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Really nice food and cocktails. The Botanist cocktail is lovely. Only draw back is the waiting staff who need quite a bit of encouragement to serve you.

Thank Rlglenn652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanistNCL, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi Rglenn652,
We are so pleased to hear you had a nice time. As for the waiting staff we will be sure to give them a reminder that every guest is important and they should not need prompting to do their job :) Hope this hasn't put you off and you visit us again soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Having been to The Botanist several times for drinks, I was excited to try the food. Our table was on the upper floor and we got a nice view overlooking the bar area. Food was excellent, I love the cocktails too. It was a little rowdy since it was a Saturday night but liked the background music and the live musicians.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanistNCL, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi Harriet S,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased you had a lovely time with us on our mezzanine floor! We hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Just called in for cocktails. Lovely bar area and cocktails were pretty good. Nice to have musician playing but not possible to hear it on a bustling Saturday night. A bit of background music would be just as good.

Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanistNCL, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi HelenR,
Thank you for this lovely review. We will keep in mind the music in future and improve! Hope to see you again soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This pub/restaurant is in the centre of Newcastle city, the food is delicious with lots of choice from, snacks to chicken dishes and steaks, the flat iron steak is rather thin but tasty, I’m still undecided if it’s worth the money? Iv also tried the hanging kebabs (my favourite here) they come with a pouring sauce and a side of fries , the drinks here are reasonably priced as the place is very stylish with occasional live music. The cocktails are lovely and we usually take these up to the roof terrace, it’s fab up there and you get a great view of the city it’s partially open air with little booths that have heaters, there is also a bar up there but I think it’s only open at night times, a must visit if you not been or it’s your first time in Newcastle.

Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanistNCL, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hello Mandy W,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are so pleased each visit with us has been great! Were always trying to improve each aspect of the business so its people who return like yourself who give vital feedback.
Thanks again, and hope to see you again soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing