We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cafe/bar with roof top terrace”

The Factory Kitchen
Ranked #141 of 1,398 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Description: The Factory Kitchen café is located within The Biscuit Factory - the UK's largest art, craft and design gallery set in the heart of Newcastle's cultural quarter. Headed up by experienced chef Michael Waugh, The Factory Kitchen serves fresh, bold flavours and is influenced by Europe's quintessential café culture. The café boasts a collection of original artwork by a range of contemporary artists, not to mention stunning views across Newcastle. Open seven days a week - The Factory Kitchen is the perfect destination to kick back with a coffee and a book, enjoy a spot of brunch with friends or indulge in sparkling afternoon tea.
Restaurant details
Description: The Factory Kitchen café is located within The Biscuit Factory - the UK's largest art, craft and design gallery set in the heart of Newcastle's cultural quarter. Headed up by experienced chef Michael Waugh, The Factory Kitchen serves fresh, bold flavours and is influenced by Europe's quintessential café culture. The café boasts a collection of original artwork by a range of contemporary artists, not to mention stunning views across Newcastle. Open seven days a week - The Factory Kitchen is the perfect destination to kick back with a coffee and a book, enjoy a spot of brunch with friends or indulge in sparkling afternoon tea.
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We have eaten occasionally at the Biscuit Factory over the years and I am delighted to say that this relatively new expansion in the form of a roof top terrace results in its best cafe/bar facility so far.Known as the Factory Kitchen the cafe is light and airy, taking advantage of the great views, tastefully decorated as you would expect within the Biscuit Factory and the food was delicious.I had a very tasty cheese sandwich with bacon, washed down with a Sputnik beer and my wife had a quiche with salad and a glass of the house white wine.Friendly and efficient service and they deserve to be a lot busier - it's a gem.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2018

We headed here for a bite to eat, we were looking for a place that served brunch near to where we were staying (Staybridge suites) and we were not disappointed. The menu has a host of delicious dishes to choose from, including eggs Benedict, avocado on toast, salads to name a few. We were torn between the lamb shoulder with harissa and the pork and fennel ciabatta so we opted for both and shared them.

The lamb was cooked to perfection, full of flavour and it melted, like butter, in your mouth. The pork and salsa verde was tasty with a bit of zing! The ciabatta was light and airy and very moreish.

We loved the outdoor seating area, with all the herbs in pots, with the warm weather it was the perfect place to chill and while away the late morning. The drinks selection is of good quality with a range on alcoholic drinks to compliment the soft options. You can also help yourself to tap water.

If I wasn't as full as I was I would have been tempted to indulge in a cake or ice-cream as they looked amazing. This is another place on our return list. Thank you for a great value, tasty meal.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelchick-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Great lunch or snack spot on the first floor of the Biscuit Factory, a craft and art centre a mile or so outside the city centre. Bright contemporary decor, and a great selection of light lunch dishes, cakes, etc. I had a tasty deep-filled quiche with a selection of wonderful and unusual salads. My wife had a spicy shakshuka, which she enjoyed very much. A number of different bottled and canned beers are available.

We went back for coffee and fruit scones the next morning, and that was equally good!

There is an outside rooftop eating area, though the views are mainly of building sites and residential areas.

I can definitely recommend the Factory Kitchen for lunch and snacks.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Steve7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We popped in for tea and cakes while having a mooch round the gallery. The cakes were all really good and the tea was served in proper pots with leaf strainers.

The children enjoyed their food as did I. The service was very good and there were many people in enjoying late lunches.

We also saw Jeremy Corbyn!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Dr_Waugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Stopped by for lunch during our visit to the gallery.
We enjoyed sitting in the conservatory area with open views and open area with fresh air, although sheltered from the worst of the weather.
Beef ciabatta was delicious and very filling.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Jackman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Factory Kitchen also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Factory Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing