We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner with old friend”
Review of The Queen's Head

The Queen's Head
Ranked #11 of 322 Restaurants in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Queen's Head is located in the heart of the beautiful village of East Clandon, close to Guildford and the A3. Forming part of the award-winning Red Mist Leisure family of pubs, The Queen's Head is a popular location all year round offering a large pub garden for alfresco dining and drinks in the summer and a warming log fire to cosy up to in the colder, winter months. Offering an inspiring menu of fresh, local and seasonal dishes, they have both a la carte and daily specials to choose from. They also enjoy great relations with local drink suppliers including the award-winning High Clandon sparkling wine, Silent Pool gin and Tilford Brewery, to name just a few.
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Booking process worked well. Waiting staff were helpful. Food arrived hot. The Chicken, Ham & Leek pie was great. Prices were reasonable. Just what a modern pub meal should be like. Great experience!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David_Mackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We have been patrons of this pub/ restaurant for many years. I am sorry to say the standard of food and service has declined. Problem exacerbated by smelly dogs on a nearby table.
Is this a restaurant or a pub? If its a pub then provide more access to the bar area. If a restaurant ban dogs

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank barriemorse1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni C, General Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent visit to The Queens Head.

I'm sorry that you feel we have gone downhill. I can assure you that myself, the head chef and all of the team are working very hard to ensure that we offer high levels of food and service at all times.

As many pubs these days we advertise as being dog friendly, we do allow dogs in just one of the rooms in the pub as well as the outside dining area. We are always happy to move people out of this dining area if anyone is uncomfortable.

We do hope you visit us again and trust that any future visits will be more enjoyable.

Kind regards

Danni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We went to celebrate a friends birthday and had an extremely pleasurable evening. the hot weather helped considerably as we ate outside well past sunset.
The car park accommodates a good number of cars too.
Service was very good and the menu was a varied choice.
I had the pie and would recommend it, a proper pie with great veg and thick chips.
Its a restaurant more than a pub these days but it also promotes a dog friendly provision so may be also worth a revisit one lunchtime.
Reasonably priced meal and drinks for the 4 of us and a good wine selection.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J4KEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We went there for a late Sunday lunch at around 7pm. Thought it might be very busy, which it was but managed to get a table outside. Lovely welcome from the staff who sat us and very quickly got us some drinks as it was very hot. Food was served quickly and was delicious. Possibly the best roast beef I've had in a long time. The staff fussed over our two dogs and brought them water and biscuits.Its these little touches that make an outing special. A special mention for our Australian waitress who was wonderful. Good luck being a vet back in Aus.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lairhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Visited for a meal on a Saturday evening. We were greeted at the bar by the manager and were offered drinks which we took outside to enjoy on the sunny patio. When it came time to eat we ordered the charcuterie sharing board to share as we could not decide between the individual starters. For mains I had the chicken and leek pie with delicous chunky chips, vegetables and gravy while my partner enjoyed his steak, which was cooked to perfection. Left no room for pudding but i will definitely go back to try the apple and toffee eton mess!!
Lovely place, great service, buzzing atmosphere - what more do you need?

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank c8s8j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queen's Head also viewed

 
Shamley Green, Guildford
Guildford, Surrey
 
Shere, Guildford
 

Been to The Queen's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing