We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newmarket short stay”
Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
Ranked #2 of 12 Quick Bites in Newmarket
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: This Wetherspoon pub is the former Golden Lion, a long-standing fixture on High Street. The sign of The Golden Lion is thought to have originated with King Henry I. Known as the Lion of Justice, Henry started a royal menagerie at Woodstock, which included lions - reputedly the first to be seen in England.
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent 3 days in Newmarket and every day we visited The Golden Lion,I have to say that the service was excellent on all occasions all the staff were brilliant but in particular Sian was always willing to put herself out to ‘go that extra mile’to look after customers

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank adyshady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2021

We had the misfortune to visit the Golden Lion this weekend. Although we know Witherspoon pubs are at the bottom of the food chain I didn’t know quite how bad they were. Cheep? Yes. Nice? No.
The staff were rude, ordering guests around like school children, the service was slow and when ordering on the app it is hard to find what you want on it. When we did find staff to help us they could not even even find the drinks we wanted.
There are several pubs in Newmarket. Do yourself a favour. Go to one of them. Not the Golden Lion

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank adrianwN9470PX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2021

Doors unlocked, so I'm we go to be told not open till 9a,m (it was in fact 8.59!) They locked the doors behind us. Reopened at 9.05, new place, for us, but was not told how their system worked. They obviously had regulars who walked in behind us which were far more superior to us. We were made to get our own hot drinks, yet everyone else's were taken to the tables. Food was unbelievably cold except the sausage! We won't be returning, as it wasn't welcoming and the food vile where it was stone cold. Disappointed was underestimated

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2021

Staff where extremely rude and not helpful, they told us we should go and get breakfast elsewhere, if we couldn’t figure out their app.. which we did walk round the corner to the pantry and got the best breakfast in town.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2020

Too much to write. Rude service and employees. they have removed my girlfirend`s food and drink while we went to smoke outside. Just simply the worst place ever! Also liars.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 188pedroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.