We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday roast with family”
Review of Henry Tudor House

Henry Tudor House
Ranked #46 of 361 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: ₱424 - ₱1,695
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 29, 2024 via mobile

Made a 12pm reservation online for Sunday roast for a table of 4.
Arrived & seated on time. Tables all clearly marked with name & reservation time. Cheery greetings from all the staff.
Erin our server helped with drink descriptions & was pleasant throughout our entire reservation. Three roast beef & 1 pork loin w/ crackling dishes & 1 carrot & ginger soup starter. All of excellent quality, portion & presentation.
Love the newly renovated interior. Very unique with all the cosy seating areas & the bar having access from two sides added yo the ambiance.
Next time I’ll try & save room for a pudding.
Nice to have such a great place close to home. We’ll be back!

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank YNWATravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2024

Visited here previously, always a pleasant family meal…however, today was a very different experience. The restaurant had recently been refurbished, but not for the better, which disappointed us.

The menu was limited, and to add to this, they had sold out out of the fish and chips. This made our options even more limited.

The duck was dry, and the burger was small. They also had a problem with the heating. They offered to move us…however, no one followed this up.

We paid, without any qualms. However, upon leaving and questioning a waitress about why no one followed up changing tables, the waitress became very defensive and abrasive, claiming she was unaware of the member of the staff who had seated us and told us that we could move seats. Upon further questioning, the waitress eventually revealed that the name of the waitress was “probably Ellie”, but did not respond any further. Poor customer service.

Won’t be returning in a rush!

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank Citybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 6, 2024 via mobile

From the outside looks like a typical medieval Inn, but was like a tardis inside, HUGE.
Decided to have a lunchtime meal and although I asked "what was the pie of the day" (chicken & leek, which I didn't like) we ordered 2 fish, chips with mushy peas & tartare sauce.
Was a bit concerned when after a while the waitress came over and said "it was the fish & chips you ordered wasn't it" I looked at my wife and said "something is up there," anyway just after, the waitress came back to say "really sorry, but I accidently ordered the pies instead of the fish as you'd asked what was the pie of the day, but I'm really sorry and the chef is cooking the fish now and it won't be long" again apologising. We wasn't worried about the cock up as these things happen. When the food arrived the fish was overcooked and looked more like southern fried chicken, and the chips had been the original chips cooked and left on the plate which made them soft and very unappetising 😡 the fish was done (done as in very dead, in fact it had a better sun tan than me) The place had great appeal and was very relaxing with ambience. We will return but not to eat (sadly). End result we only ate the fish as we were hungry but left everything else, got 50% off but that meant we only paid for 1 fish & chips. A lesson learned.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 30, 2023

Great pub, both starter and main were popping hot and delicious. Beer was great but cocktails even better.

Service was fab, much improved since they opened. I'm looking forward to a more expansive menu soon.

I've seen negative comments about the unisex toilets, but surely we've all got unisex toilets at home? There are seperate gents and ladies toilets upstairs if required.

Looking forward to my next visit to the pub

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 30, 2023

The food was delivered to the table piping hot, and was absolutely bloody scrumptious! Choices were limited, but this is to be expected for a pub, rather than a restaurant. But definitely worth a try…. Vegan options available on all courses as well. 👍

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 416jacksd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Henry Tudor House also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Upton Magna, Shrewsbury
 

Been to Henry Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.