We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/27
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Haughmond(Upton Magna)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/26
US$121
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hambrook House(Shrewsbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Corbet Arms(Uffington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sydney House(Shrewsbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
277
117
64
56
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
277
117
64
56
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglamping podsafternoon teasky roomcomplimentary brandyalice in wonderlandhunt roomquirky placegroupon deallittle touchesfull englishshropshire hillsmother's dayevening mealtea and coffee facilitiesmain buildingbeautiful countrysideboth mornings
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Stopped in pod. On arrival bin full of rubbish, dirty cups, dirty bedding requested clean sheets. Empty bottle which should of been full of water for kettle. Hot tub fillfy. Toilet facilities disgusting. Shower had human hair in it bin overflowing. No towels. Breakfast cereals but no bowels no cutlery. My husband had a cup I waited 20minutes for one. No juice I asked for glasses they didn’t come. When breakfast came it was awful. Coffee undrinkable didn’t taste or smell of coffee. Unfortunately we were booked in for two nights. We didn’t bother with breakfast the second morning due to my husband seeing the chef in the toilet who walked out without washing his hands.

Room Tip: Wouldn’t recommend
Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
5  Thank alisondixon1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abels_Harp, Agent at Abel's Harp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We apologise for your recent unsatisfactory experience and have referred all your comments to management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We just got back from this one night glamping stay that was bought for us as a gift which we were really looking forward to. However we were really let down by things that could have easily been avoided.

We were looking forward to the mini afternoon tea advertised when you check in between 2-4 however we were told it was not included in our stay. As we were hungry we asked if we could pay extra and have the afternoon tea and we were told we needed to give notice. There was no food at all available for us to eat for lunch and we were pretty far drive from any other places.

The food we ate in the evening wasn't bad but was not worth the money we paid. The menu was minimal, I appreciate that the chef had left in recent weeks so therefore the "chefs specials" could of been removed off the menu if there wasn't any available. There was no chutney with the cheese board although it was promised upon order. There was Guiness advertised but no Guiness available. We asked for bbq sauce which there was none.The cutlery was dirty with lumps of butter and hairs stuck on them. The tea cups in the morning were clearly not washed with lipstick and tea stains in them!

The bed in the April glamping shed was horrendous. We hardly slept all night with bad backs in the morning due to feeling every spring in the mattress!! Never slept on something so uncomfortable. There was a half full bottle of asda water in our room to make hot drinks which there was no spoon nor again clean cups. Old plastic camping cups which again needed washing.

Run a duster round, or Hoover the ceilings as spider webs were everywhere.

All in all I think this place has great potential if just a few basic things were changed. It felt like they were skimping on simple things that really would have really made a difference.

Room Tip: Don't stay in glamping room April the bed is awful
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abels_Harp, Agent at Abel's Harp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We apologise for you recent experience and have referred all your comments to management.
The plastic cups you refer to were purchased last week .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I have just got back from an amazing 2 night stay at abels harp. The staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble. Sam the manager defiantly goes above and beyond to makes sure that your stay is welcoming and caters for your needs, I don't understand the bad reviews that people have been leaving as I couldn't find any faults with our stay. We will definitely be back :)

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stacey3599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abels_Harp, Agent at Abel's Harp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thankyou for your excellent review.We do try hard to give value for money and most of our guests recognise this in their appreciation of our hotel .We will pass on your kind remarks to Sam .
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
35
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The most unprofessional, unhygienic and deluded place I have ever visited. Filthy rooms, hairs in food harder then a table and wires that sparked when you try to move a plug, yet when you complain management say it's all your fault and refuse to help! Had to leave after 1 day, shame I couldn't have a warm shower prior to leaving! Avoid!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abels_Harp, Agent at Abel's Harp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Again you and your partner clearly had an agenda here and it’s just such a pity that your own employers don’t become aware of your attitude to other businesses .
Then again maybe they are as it’s difficult to see how your foul mouthed abuse and aggression aren’t also visible in your own workplace.
Our rooms are not filthy ,just patently untrue .I am not aware that you accessed anyone else’s room.
Your shower was fine we checked.
Please do not return.
We have many very happy guests who do not wish to overhear your aggressive ranting .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I cannot fault Abels Harp, lovely little place, very friendly staff, lovely food, the sirloin steak was absolutely gorgeous, lovely room. I dont know people feel the need to complain about Abels Harp? It is not a 5 star hotel, it is a beautiful little hotel that is what it is. Its at the top of a bloody steep hill, if you have a small car with a small engine get a taxi :) we would definately go again.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stuey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abels_Harp, Agent at Abel's Harp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thankyou for your honest review.We do not pretend to be 5 star ,we are a vintage themed small hotel set in outstanding countryside.
We try very hard to get it right and we try hard to offer value for money ,good food a bar and very pleasant staff and management.
Please do come again you will be very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews