We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pun”
Review of Bull & Chequers

Bull & Chequers
Ranked #118 of 630 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: US$7 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: A local pub at the heart of the community. We show football and other live sporting events on both Sky and BT.Serving value food and drinks with sports and function menus available. Family and dog friendly(dogs must be on leads) with a large garden at the rear and patio area at the front.
Reviewed 31 May 2021

I visited the Bull & Chequers for the first time in many years and will definitely be visiting again the pub was really clean and welcoming I was so impressed, the food was lovely all the Bar staff were very friendly our servers Sophie & Lauren were really helpful and polite

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank tinachivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bull & Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. We hope to see you soon!
Rachel and team at The Bull & Chequers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2021

Lauren was amazing at serving and very friendly all in all service was amazing. Service was quick and professional

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank rafal3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bull & Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day! We look forward to your next visit, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2021

The three Fs, fun fit and friendly the perfect words to not only describe the building but the staff within.

Genuinely nice pub to drink and with good quality food and reasonably priced!

Bull and chequers wouldn’t be the same without Claire and Lauren!!

Great place to go to for all whether it be with friends or family

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Lamby212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bull & Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2021

We're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with us! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2021

Great pub really good people good staff especially Lauren cant wait to go back there to see everyone again

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank 639zakw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bull & Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2021

Thanks for your positive review. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2021

Yeah peng time at the bnc Lauren was good. Had some beers and some chicken cant complain really so yeah

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank adamtA7031PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bull & Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2021

Hello Adamta7031pb, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. I will pass your comments on to Lauren. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Rachel and team at The Bull and Chequers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull & Chequers also viewed

 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Bull & Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.