We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Service but will not take Cash”
Review of The Rowbarge

The Rowbarge
Ranked #69 of 636 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have visited the Rowbarge on many occasions for family celebrations, Christmas or just a meal out. Food, beer and service has always been very good. Regretably will not go back again due the Brunning and Price policy of not accepting cash. Even if you want just a small lemonade you have to pay by card. This is not customer friendly. What about the oldies.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hawkeye1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful location, whilst enjoying a spot of lunch and some drinks. staff were amazing and was served quickly. Loved watching the canal boats go by. Dog friendly. Perfect location and amazing outdoor area. Food was very well presented and was gorgeous. Thank you Gary and staff for amazing customer service. Polite and very welcoming place

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Explore770516
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff just don't care about customers, poor on every level. Poor food, poor customer service. We won't be going back.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank joolsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a meal at the rowbarge. Menu was varied with excellent choices. The table service was very prompt, we had a waitress called Lucy who was very helpful and friendly making our evening that extra special. We also need to mention Ben, who served the drinks for the meal, my partner was particularly excited with the fresh raspberries in her GnT. We would definitely recommend

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank H7657ZFsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely spot to meet up with friends when the suns out. Plus good place to stop if on canal.
Food a bit average,but ok at the cost. Very steep narrow stairs to the loos but disabled on ground floor.
Think they should review their policy on not taking cash as unlikely to return until they do.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olderman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rowbarge also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Aldermaston Wharf, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Rowbarge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.