We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$119
Hotels.comUS$119
PricelineUS$111
TravelocityUS$119
eDreamsUS$111
Destinia.comUS$121
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,399)
Filter reviews
1,399 results
Traveler rating
475
474
239
135
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
475
474
239
135
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite iffley village walk along the river lovely hotel full english superior room the bus breakfast was excellent free parking visit oxford oxford centre thames pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,399 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

We weren’t even that upset about our room not being ready an hour after check-in (and this made us late for a booking in town). We understand that these things happen, especially if you are short-staffed. But the man trying to check us in was loudly exclaiming about how “I told the cleaners to clean this room 30 minutes ago! This is just ridiculous!” was a bit unprofessional. We were given free drinks as a result. Unfortunately, the next mistake was more of a problem for us. Our room was pre-paid via Red Letter Days and the hotel took the full payment again on our card without telling us. This meant we were short on money for our whole trip to Oxford (we set aside money in that account for this trip) as a refund takes a couple days to come through. We understand pre-authorising £100 for potential food/drink we purchase (this was fully explained), but you should never take almost £300 off someone without telling them exactly what you’re doing. We didn’t even get an apology or any offer to make it up to us. All that being said, the room itself and the bed were absolutely lovely.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JessRose1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for an overnight in August 21 with our 2 children and our dog. The hotel is beautifully refurbished, very smart and modern looking. The staff are amazing. So friendly and helpful going out of their way to help. Felt like a real family atmosphere amongst the staff. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with vegetarian options. The room was very large which was great for a family like ours with a dog. The sofa bed was not the most comfortable as sofa beds are but ok for kids for one night. The main bed was huge and very comfortable. Lovely facilities in the room with tea, coffee a nespresso machine, hairdryer. Everything was very clean and looked brand new.
Would definitely stay again, unusual to find such a smart modern hotel that is dog friendly so thank you!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 576aileenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband and have to leave a review for this lovely hotel. We stayed in a standard double room and it was really large. Great shower and a little fridge in the room with complimentary water. The gardens were lovely and there was always somebody working away on them. We ate dinner here both evenings and the food was great. Breakfast was faultless too with a large selection of buffet cooked breakfast and they cooked your eggs however you wanted them. The hotel is decorated beautifully and themed around Oxford's clothing manufacturing history, very tastefully done. One day we walked into Oxford from the hotel which is in the village of Iffley. We took our time and it took us about 45 mins along the banks of the Thames.
Lastly a special mention for the staff, they are a credit to their employer. Very welcoming and helpful, nothing was ever a bother and they all had great smiles
I hope we get a chance to return here again one day, it was a perfect break for our anniversary.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank duffybear01064
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Watt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Hawkwell House Hotel - reopened on 15th June 2021, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Dear Duffybear

Thank you very much for your kind review, really appreciated and a great morale boost for the team

I am pleased that the team looked after you and that you enjoyed your stay and the new renovated bedrooms and hotel, all themed around Oxford Fashion and bikes

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and trust you had a safe journey home.

With best wishes

Peter
Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

We had a weekend away here and were anxious to learn a wedding was taking place on arrival, but our room was in Elm house - a separate Georgian house 50 yards from the main buildings - which looks fully refurbished. So ask for there if you want a peaceful nights sleep!
Well placed in a residential area it is 5 mins to a park and ride and 30 mins on foot into Oxford.
Breakfast is hot and has continental offerings, all buffet style with plenty to choose from with very lovely ladies to welcome and serve you.
The only concern? The lack of parking, probably because of the number of guests and wedding in peak season.

Date of stay: August 2021
Thank lou1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Watt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Hawkwell House Hotel - reopened on 15th June 2021, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Dear Lou

Thank you very much for your kind review, really appreciated and a great morale boost for the team

I am pleased that the team looked after you and that you enjoyed your stay and the new renovated bedrooms and hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and trust you had a safe journey home.

With best wishes

Peter
Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

Staff didn’t wear masks anywhere or at any time during our stay. We paid for adjoining rooms. One room had extra pillows, nicer duvets, robes and a coffee machine as well as free refreshments in the fridge. The other room had none of those things, really disappointed. Other guests in the hotel staying in rooms near us were very noisy and banging doors at 3am. Breakfast was a bad experience. No staff wearing masks. Buffet service and all guests touching tongs, jugs, toasters etc and nothing was being cleaned. I didn’t eat much because I felt really uncomfortable. Staff were inattentive and appeared very stressed and unprofessional. I won’t be going again sadly.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank T8817OEFrankyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews