We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant friday evening”

Rooftop Restaurant Ashmolean
Reserve with OpenTable
Rooftop Restaurant Ashmolean is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 725 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: French, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Transit: A 10 minute walk from Oxford train station, and very close to Oxford bus station.
Description: A celebration of food and wine alongside art and culture. The Ashmolean Rooftop Restaurant provides the spectacular setting for Oxford's first and finest rooftop restaurant. Our menu is fresh, seasonal and inspired by current exhibitions.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We have been twice to this restaurant in the evening, and both times we have been very impressed overall.
The service has been excellent,;our waitress was friendly, attentive and efficient but we weren't rushed at all The food was beautifully prepared and in my opinion though the plate isn't piled high the ingredients were top quality. On a friday evening with the jazz band on there was certainly a buzz. We'll be going again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sanfaeryanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Rooftop Restaurant Ashmolean, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sanfaeryanne,

We would like to thank you for your very kind words about our restaurant, staff, food and service. We are extremely delighted you had a wonderful time with us. Our jazz evenings have been quite popular so once again we are glad you had decided to come.

We'll look forward to seeing you in the restaurant once again!

Kind regards,

Andrea T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

In Oxford mainly for the Ashmolean exhibitions. (Do see the Michaelangelo drawings before they go back into storage for a few years.) Lunch, as always, was well prepared (we had the fish special), good but never cheap, well presented and served by relaxed but attentive severs.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank B_Bum_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Rooftop Restaurant Ashmolean, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear B_Bum_2013,

thank you for your kind and lovely words regarding our restaurant, food and service. That is also a wonderful recommendation about the Michelangelo exhibition, it was truly fantastic!

We would lo e to have you back in the restaurant again!

Kind regards,

Andrea T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Most enjoyable afternoon tea. Lovely food, superb setting and good service. On arrival we were served with a chilled glass of prosecco, plenty of delicious food and hot tea's of our choice.
Our waiter Cesar was very attentive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Rooftop Restaurant Ashmolean, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Susan B,

Thank you for your lovely comments out our location, food and even more so, our beloved waiter Cesar. We are extremely glad you have enjoyed your experience with us and we will be more than delighted to welcome you back to the restaurant. Hopefully when it's a bit warmer in the summer!

Kind regards,

Andrea T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Served by the delightful Arcangelo at lunch for our party of 8 hungry people. Food good as usual, and Arcangelo was an attentive and excellent waiter. Satisfied customers!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Rooftop Restaurant Ashmolean, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Nicholas D,

We are delighted to hear your wonderful feedback about us. Furthermore, Arcangelo will be excited to hear your kind comments about his attentive and excellent service.

We'll definitely see you in the future!

Andrea T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Good service & good food in a relaxed atmosphere wiyth fine views over the Oxford skyline. Menu and wine list catered for all tastes

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Rooftop Restaurant Ashmolean, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear David C,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are you pleased you had a great time with us and enjoyed the Oxford skyline through the terrace.

Hopefully see you soon!

Kind regards,

Andrea T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooftop Restaurant Ashmolean also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Rooftop Restaurant Ashmolean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing