We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Pan Pan

Pan Pan
Reserve with OpenTable
Pan Pan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #251 of 702 Restaurants in Oxford
Description: Welcome to Pan Pan, the home of Pan-Asian cuisine. Come and enjoy our Southeast Asia inspired ‘Street Food’. Our unique take on small ‘tapas’ style dishes are perfect for a light bite over some drinks with some friends. We are confident that our brand will show off our passion we have for the food we serve and you wont be disappointed with our authentic selection of tantalising flavours in each and every dish.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Pan Pan, the home of Pan-Asian cuisine. Come and enjoy our Southeast Asia inspired ‘Street Food’. Our unique take on small ‘tapas’ style dishes are perfect for a light bite over some drinks with some friends. We are confident that our brand will show off our passion we have for the food we serve and you wont be disappointed with our authentic selection of tantalising flavours in each and every dish.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We decided to give this place a try as a friend told us he’d enjoyed the best Malaysian curry he’d ever had. Unfortunately, we were bitterly disappointed. We ordered the Rendang, the duck pad Thai and some sweet and sour ‘KFC’. All the food was bland and really lacking in flavour and texture.

The chicken came with a luminous sweet and sour sauce which I would not have expected from a venue claiming to serve street food. The chicken also did not seem to be good quality and was very stringy.

We have been fortunate enough to have eaten street food all over Asia and this was not it! The restaurant itself is very stylish but I’m afraid it’s a case of style over substance. There are far better Asian food options in Oxford.

Thank stickywicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junior C, Manager at Pan Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Stickywicks,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your time here at the Pan Pan.
I will be sure to pass on all your feedback to both the kitchen and waiting staff.

I would like to apologies for the negative experience during your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018

This is quite a find! The selection of Asian food is wide and everything we tried was delicious. The peanut sauce with the satay was exceptional and much better than many places - it has a nice sharpness as well as sweetness. This little place jumps to near the top in Oxford for this type of food.

Thank adspharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junior C, Manager at Pan Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you very much :) We hope that next time will deserve 5* :) If you could let us know what we can improve . Hope to see you soon again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Wow wow.
First time I’ve eaten and it was amazing.
Every dish was fantastically prepared and fresh.
Service was amazing and the staff very helpful.
Will definitely come again.

Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junior C, Manager at Pan Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for this lovely review! We really do appreciate it :) So glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Had our company’s late Christmas party there. They accommodated us with a private area. Lovely decoration and excellent service. Was greet by the manager or owner. Led us upstairs to the private function area. Large range of drinks and nibbles. The calamari and KFC chicken in garlic mayo were to die for. Main I had Rengden curry with rice, was the best I tasted in UK. We were a group of 15 and service was spot on, prompt and attentive. We were not left alone on the 2nd floor. There is always a waiting staff making sure we had enough drinks etc. Highly recommend the curry. Way better than Chains.

Thank Chi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junior C, Manager at Pan Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

One of the few places on Cowley Road/St Clements that was open over the Christmas period. I had a delicious seaweed salad and the crispy calamari. I wasn't a fan of the batter but that's personal preference. My friends enjoyed their dishes. The restaurant itself is really lovely, well decorated and the lady who served us was attentive and friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChantelleC1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junior C, Manager at Pan Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you very much for your review. Hope next time we ll deserve 5* :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pan Pan also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Pan Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing