We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and friendly service ”
Review of Little Mexico

Little Mexico
Ranked #5 of 123 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Little Mexico, is a well-established ethnic restaurant that offers original and authentic Mexican food, located in Hexham Northumberland, this Gastro Shop gives you the true Mexican Experience through authentic food and a wide range of products imported directly from Mexico. Extra services: We cater for events, from dinner parties, weddings and festivals to cooking in to your own home. Call or email us to discuss your plans to help make you event memorable.
Restaurant details
Description: Little Mexico, is a well-established ethnic restaurant that offers original and authentic Mexican food, located in Hexham Northumberland, this Gastro Shop gives you the true Mexican Experience through authentic food and a wide range of products imported directly from Mexico. Extra services: We cater for events, from dinner parties, weddings and festivals to cooking in to your own home. Call or email us to discuss your plans to help make you event memorable.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped off in Hexham on the way to the airport to see the Abbey and have some dinner, and on the way to the abbey saw a board advertising burritos with an arrow down the street. An hour later I decided I actually quite fancied a burrito and am I glad we went. We had chicken burritos, delicious spiced coffee that we were offered a mug of to try before buying, and some tortillas, cactus (the whole leaf rather than the brined strips and totally delicious) and fresh guacamole on the side, that we were also able to try first. We left full and it kept us going through our delayed wait later in the evening, all for around £20!
We have a fantastic place near to us that does huge burritos for a fiver (he is Mexican and also ‘griddles’ them once stuffed, I’ve noticed a few reviews here saying that’s an unusual thing to do, but it makes it extra tasty and the wrap more sturdy) but even so I found myself wishing Little Mexico was near to us in Exeter so we could go back again! I’ll definitely be trying the coffee at home as well, it was just what we needed in the blustery cold weather, hot and sweet and comforting Christmas-esque spices, and all served by a friendly and polite chef/gentleman who definitely deserves all the fantastic reviews he has received here.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank fenny89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielgarden, Owner at Little Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Such a great read, glad you found us. Hope that you'll visit again if you are ever up this way. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

i go here at least once a week and i’m never let down. the quality of the food is amazing, the atmosphere is lovely and the employees are always so welcome. one of my favourite places to go ❤️❤️

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank GrandTour66940155441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielgarden, Owner at Little Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! Such a lovely thing to read! Hopefully see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

I must admit our total experience of Mexican food is limited to the "dinner kits" found in supermarkets and a fairly terrible burrito once from a "chain" supposedly specialising in burritos!

We eventually found Little Mexico and it is a funky little place with four tables or so.

We started with a bowl of nachos and then had a burrito each. I opted for the spicy sauce and jalapenos and it certainly had a kick to it.

We finished off with a spiced Mexican coffee.

We were served by a very pleasant and friendly gentleman.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank DVETheK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielgarden, Owner at Little Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed the experience with us. We would be really happy to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Great little restaurant with good food.
The guacamole was tasty and much like we had in Mexico.
They didn't take cards but as it is reasonably priced, that wasn't a problem.
There are very few tables so it can only seat 8-10 but does do take-away.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank PavlH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielgarden, Owner at Little Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hi PavlH, thank you for your review. The good news is now we take payment by cards! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Walked along Hadrian's wall path, from Heddon through Corbridge to Hexham. We were pretty much famished when we arrived and went looking for a nice meal. Found Little Mexico here on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. Had a beef burrito, pork quesadilla and a mega nachos. Just what we needed. Everything tasted great and had great value, service was very nice and even offered us special Mexican coffees on the house. Highly recommend this place!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jos v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielgarden, Owner at Little Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hi Jos, Glad you found us and had a satisfying experience.
All the best.
Little Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Mexico also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Little Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing