We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - we will be back”
Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
Ranked #27 of 633 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Brasserie23 at The Kings Head in Spratton, near Northampton is a 17th century hostelry where chef Dan Tompkins creates wonderful fresh, seasonal food made with love...
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having now eaten here on a number of occasions, we cannot fault the quality and presentation of the food, nor the friendliness of the staff. We brought some "foodie" friends for Sunday lunch and we had a splendid time. Absolutely we will be back and absolutely recommended!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank allmylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2019 via mobile

One of the better restaurants/bistro pub. The quality always at a high standard. Lovely setting with very attentive and friendly staff. Bit of a shame that whilst having a special Valentine's menu (lovely) those little touches such as table setting, flower display,love heart sprinkles etc would have made a huge difference. Table setting was just like any other day. Food standards such as this....you can forgive all.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 183thomasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

Service with a smile - very friendly, fun staff who were attentive as and when required. I personally only had a main course - the duck - which was excellent. Worth a visit

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank FineWineDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2019

This was our first visit to the Kings Head, and we were very impressed. The staff were very attentive and the food was amazing and beautifully presented.

The atmosphere in the restaurant was lovely, busy but not noisy.

The Kings Head has definitely become our new favourite restaurant locally.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 350duncann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday night. The restaurant was very busy with lots of tables in a small space. There appeared to be radio music on. We ordered the trout and a separate dish of vegetables as these were not included in the price of the dish. The food took 45 minutes to arrive, and the fish was over cooked and the mash potato just about warm. The side dish of vegetables was astonishing - cabbage and 4 cherry tomatoes cut in half on top - not even roasted. Given that the dish was £18.95, it was all very bizarre. With a mediocre small glass of Pinot, the bill was £50 for two people and we skipped desert and drove to East Haddon, where we ate a lovely Chefs desert platter in the pub there. Coupled with cold toilets at the Kings Head and a 2014 review cut from a magazine and stuck on the wall, we won’t be hurrying back!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank cdcdcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Kislingbury, Northampton
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing