We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal”
Review of Loch Fyne - York

Loch Fyne - York
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 27/07
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #112 of 925 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$97
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

I Have been to this restaurant a few times and have never had a problem. I was really looking forward to it.

There were 4 of us.

We had the oysters followed by starter of mussels, fish soup, and calamari. The mussels were fantastic, the soup we were told it had chunks of fish in it, which it didn’t.

We ordered 2 fish and chips, lamb rump and the prawn linguine. The lamb rump was as tough as old boots, the pea-shoot garnish on the linguine was wilted as it had been sat under the heat lamps( in my opinion that shouldn’t have left the kitchen) and there was no taste to the actual meal it was just spicy hot. The table was very wobbly we had to stuff menus under it. The waitress had forgotten to order a fish and chips. We called the manager who offered to do another rump, and change the linguine. So at one point there was only one of eating which was rather disappointing.
Eventually the fish and chips arrived, the rump was changed and linguine made it back out we’re pretty sure it was the same meal we had returned only with fresh pea-shoots garnish.

They gave us a bottle of Prosecco and it appeared a fish and chips was missing off bill, I’m thinking that the missing fish and chips was a mistake not a act of good faith.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank 703joannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Loch Fyne - York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Hi 703joannem, we are extremely sorry that there were issues when you dined with us. As we had tried to rectify this in house we are sorry that you were still dissatisfied when you left. Please accept our apologies for this. We would love to see you again soon to restore your faith in us; as you know from dining with us on several occasions previously and know our usual excellent standards and quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2021

This was the best service in a restaurant that we’ve ever seen, particularly with the two children who had an amazing time. Anna in particular, and all the staff were friendly, attentive and efficient, going over and above for us. The food was incredible and the menu was also really vegan friendly. Will definitely go back again soon.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank gmmthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Loch Fyne - York, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Many thanks for your review!
I will pass your lovely comments on to Anna, she’s a star!
We hope to see you back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2021

Came here for a honeymoon meal with the wife having been recommended by a good friend who lives in York. We have both thanked him immensely for the suggestion.

The menu is sublime. Plenty of options but not too a point where it becomes saturated and difficult to form a good 3 course experience. The fresh water oysters are stunning and the shallot vinegar is easily the best I've tasted anywhere.

The whole experience was top notch. From the minute upon entering to the time it came to leave the staff were incredibly friendly, very knowledgeable and further added to what is a beautiful dining experience. An absolute must visit.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank 147joshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Loch Fyne - York, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Many thanks for your lovely review and kind words!
We’re so glad you had a lovely time and we can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2021

A lovely family friendly meal tonight. Kate was fabulous and so helpful. Spasibo, Kate and Loch Fyne, delicious as ever xxx

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank lexhart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Loch Fyne - York, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Many thanks for your review!
We hope to see you back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2021

lovely experinece along with amazing food today, oysters superb, and very important a server that knows what they are talking about Katie was amazing. litttle details but put wine back in the fridge to chill before we wanted i
t xxxx

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ruthtK4935OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Loch Fyne - York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2021

Many thanks for the review and for the lovely comments on Katie, Katie has only been with us since reopening so it’s very reassuring to hear this.
Thanks once again and we can’t wait to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne - York also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne - York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.