We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely shop and tea room.”

The Old School Rufforth
Ranked #526 of 1,007 Restaurants in York
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic friendly service and great food. Good selection of lunch foods and desserts. Would definitely recommend and will certainly be visiting again when we're next in the area.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at The Old School Rufforth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your review look forward to your next Visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Needing a tea on my way to the Fine Food Event in Harrogate I chanced on the sign for this establishment - entering I found a proper village shop with good quality Yorkshire groceries and paper shop with a small tea room through the shop- A nice selection of home made cakes soup and snacks and a pot of tea for less than £2-worth a detour

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at The Old School Rufforth, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018


Thank you for your visit Look forward to seeing you on your next trip


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Sunday 17 November, had been at an outside event nearby, it was bright but cold so needed warming up, soup and a panini would have been perfect. Called in at The Old School, all the signs were out - hot food, tea cakes etc. Went into the cafe - we were the only customers, seated and looked at the menu, made our chioces when a young waitress came over and said ' we have no hot food today', thinking that meant a cooked meal, we asked for soup - no not available or a toasted sandwich. Had they run out of stock? Bizarre. We had no option but to leave and find somewhere else. This was a great disappointment and not a good way to run a business. I cant see us trying again

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Hogweed755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at The Old School Rufforth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you very much for your visit. Really Sorry to read that you had a poor service. It is unfortunate that We were offering a limited menu that day due to family commitments and as we are a family run business, this meant leaving the business in the hands of a supervisor and a member of staff. To avoid disappointment for customers we decided to remain open and serve Hot drinks and Cakes only Which should have been explained to you as the resident Chef was not on site. I can only apologise for your disappointment and can assure you that we pride ourselves on giving a good service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Myself and a colleague found this little gem by accident whilst on a business visit locally. Totally charmed by the shop, Frank himself, and all the wonderful 'school' props and little touches of dressing. We both LOVE tea rooms, in the true sense of the word, with possibly a little longer to wait, but the personal service and charm more than make up for any shortcomings. A bowl of chalk on the table to write on the slate 'place mats'?!?! Wonderful. Old books and photos to browse. Fabulous. Had two excellent toasties, complete with garnish and freshly made by Frank himself. Two superb barista coffees. Yes, it is not particularly 'cheap' but as the old adage goes, I have paid a lot more for a lot less, at other establishments. Don't go if you want fast food and impersonal service. This is a little piece of historical charm and the pride that Frank obviously takes in his establishment is sadly lacking with so many proprietors these days. Loved it!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cathryn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at The Old School Rufforth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and welcomed feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Visited early on in the year
Very good service. A little hidden gem.
Looking forward to our next visit

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank brynandwispa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank D, Owner at The Old School Rufforth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your visit and feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old School Rufforth also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 
Bishopthorpe, York
 

Been to The Old School Rufforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing