We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a happy day out ”

Piglets Adventure Farm
Ranked #30 of 216 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Piglets Adventure Farm is a fun filled family day out! With hands-on animal fun, lots of action packed adventure play and home to Truffles the pig. Jump for joy on our Bouncing Pillows, hold on tight on the Pink Barrel Train ride, or tackle the Olym-Pig Assault Course! You can sculpt sandcastles in the Giant Sand Pit, climb over Giant Pigs, beat mum and dad on the Pedal Go-Karts, be a farmer on your own Kidbine Tractor, take a swing in Crazy Golf, explore the Nature and Farmyard Trails and hunt for fairy houses in the Fairy Trail… there’s just so much to do! Want to see little piglets? The Piglet Maternity Ward is home to expectant mums and piglets. You can get really close and watch them nestle mum and feed from her. If you’re really lucky you might even see some being born – such a memorable experience. Get close to farmyard friends in the Animal Barn. You can stroke bunnies, guinea pigs and cute baby chicks, brush the resident Kune Kune pigs and even milk a cow.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We regularly visit piglets with our little girl (14 months). She absolutely loves the soft play in the cafe, feeding the animals and playing in the maize pit. Staff are always very friendly and happy to help. Thank you piglets

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward S, Guest Relations Manager at Piglets Adventure Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We're so pleased that you regularly visit us and enjoy all the activities on offer. We have many more exciting events coming up this year and we would love to welcome you and your family back soon. Many thanks, The Piglets Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"play barn"
in 42 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 48 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 78 reviews
"go karts"
in 35 reviews
"barrel ride"
in 30 reviews
"foam party"
in 27 reviews
"pig racing"
in 47 reviews
"toy shop"
in 21 reviews
"guinea pigs"
in 21 reviews
"maize maze"
in 29 reviews
"sand pit"
in 28 reviews
"magic show"
in 16 reviews
"easter egg hunt"
in 16 reviews
"santa visit"
in 11 reviews
"pumpkin picking"
in 9 reviews
"animal feeding"
in 7 reviews
"curly fries"
in 6 reviews
Filter

62 - 66 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful day out piglets.

We had booked online to visit on Monday, however the weather forecast was terrible. We phoned up and asked if we could use the ticket another day. This was no problem at all due to the weather. Because of the heavy rain the day before we went dressed and ready for the occasion (Wear wellies of it has been raining)!

Despite the rain all the areas of the park were open. There were lots of activities to do. We did the egg hunt - the children even got a chocolate prize at the end :) the magic show was amazing and the children got to bottle feed the lambs in the animal barn. We also visited the indoor playbarn, i think my children would have spent a whole day in here if they could!

Really looking forward to visiting again For another fun day out with the family.

2  Thank Beckyjack321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward S, Guest Relations Manager at Piglets Adventure Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Becky, thank you for your kind review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit, despite the rainy weather. We always try to make sure that we have lots of activities on offer and we're especially glad that you enjoyed our Easter activities. We have many more exciting activities coming up in 2018, we would love to welcome you and your family back again soon! Many thanks, The Piglets Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We went on good Friday and three adults and two children age 3 and 6 , this is very disappointing to say it's an adventure farm the playground area is like any other you find in parks ,the few rides are ok but nothing exciting ,the animals outside just look so fed up stood in mud and with very little to amuse them ,we went to the maternity part to see the piglets very cute ,saw rabbits guinea pigs chicks and goats .we took the teactor up to the play barn we stood up as there were people with push chairs still up and bags over flour played in barn a little but queued for tractor back and was unable to get on were told we couldn't stand even though we had no choice going up the man was very rude to myself and daughter in front of my grandchildren ,we said we would complain to which he said go ahead feel free nothing will be fine ,thus for us topped it off we went straight to entrance to speak to manager she was very apologetic and said it would be dealt with ,overall a very disappointing overpriced place not worth a visit ,needless to say we will not be returning .

5  Thank crazyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward S, Guest Relations Manager at Piglets Adventure Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re really pleased you visited us with your little ones over the Easter weekend and that you enjoyed seeing our piglets, rabbits and chickens in our Animal Barn too.
We were very busy over the bank holiday weekend, and are sorry to hear you had to stand up in our Bale Play Baaarn and that you experience was not what you had hoped. We always encourage visitors to speak to our management team immediately if any issues are found during a visit to us and are pleased that you had a chat to us at the time allowing us to offer you a full refund and tickets for you to return to visit us again.
We hope that you will give us another try later in the year. The Piglets Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We have just arrived home from the most disappointing day out we've ever had at a paid visitor attraction. What follows is a very rare 1-star review for me, as I like to be constructive, fair, and honest. Unfortunately, 1 star is probably generous for Piglets Adventure Farm based on our visit.

First things first, a disclaimer. The weather was wet, cold, and generally miserable. Nowhere looks nice in horrible weather. However, after much consideration, I don't think it would have changed our opinion much had it been a nice sunny day.

We (two adults in our 30s and an almost 2-year-old child) pulled up in the car park at about 1:30pm on Easter Sunday. A few people had started leaving by then, so we managed to get on the tarmac car park near the entrance. The first thing I noticed was how awful the grass overflow car park is. I hope they tarmac that before too long, as the mud looked very difficult to maneuver in. I've read one or two stories on here of a tractor having to help people. That's the first required improvement to add to the list.

We had booked online a few days before (saving £1 each), so paid just short of £28 for two adults and a 1-year-old. Having received a map, as well as incorrect information about where to find the lamb feeds, we went in the park and over the bridge to the petting area. This turned out to be the only highlight of the day. In here, we found two mummy pigs and their respective piglets (very cute), a few lambs, a couple of goats, some little chicks, a few larger pigs, and some rabbits/guinea pigs. This was a nice little building, and our hopes at this point were fairly high. Unfortunately, we soon realised this was the highlight of the animal attractions, and the walk around the extremely bland enclosures outside was just depressing. Ponies shivering in the cold, a couple of bored looking donkeys, and some sheep made up the remainder of the animal attraction. I know it's predominantly a farm, but I imagine these aren't the animals permanent enclosures, so you could at least add something interesting to them. I know it's not a zoo, but flat, bare, muddy grass isn't that exciting, even for farm animals.

The outdoor play area really annoyed us, mainly due to having to pay almost £9 for a 23-month-old child. There was NOTHING, I repeat NOTHING, suitable for him on this particular day. Yes, on another day, he could have gone in the sandpit and maybe a couple of playground rides, but he can do this for free at any town/city/village playground. The tractor ride at the back of the park left most kids we saw looking thoroughly unimpressed. Nobody looked happy on our visit. I say that without any exaggeration. Everyone looked completely glum. The weather can't be the only reason for this.

We completed the Easter Egg hunt (was this the extravaganza part as well as the magic show? If so - you majorly oversold it). We were given a basket, asked to look behind some hay bales for eggs, and each egg would have a letter on it to form a word. When we took all these back, one of the employees grabbed the basket off us, didn't even ask us what word we thought it spelled out, and grumpily gave us two Malteaser bars. Our son just sat there none the wiser as to what was happening, and we were incredulous as to the apathy and lack of enthusiasm shown.

We decided to take the tractor/trailer ride to the play area, as by this point we wanted something positive to salvage a stinker of a day. The tractor finally pulled up, and we practically had to snorkel to the trailer. After a 1-2mph journey down a short farm track, we arrived. To our absolute shock, we found that the play area for the younger boys and girls (toddlers/babies) had a floor made of CORN. Small, round, very tempting bits of corn. You know you're somewhere very odd when the rules of play are "Don't throw corn" and "make sure your child doesn't insert corn into mouth, eyes, nose, and ears". Whose idea was this? We put our boy down, the floor was cold, he cried, and we took him out. He loves indoor play areas but looked completely bored and fed up. We queued to get back on the tractor, exited through the gift shop, and went home, utterly perplexed that anywhere could be this bad, and yet someone have a 4+ average rating on Tripadvisor.

So - I said I'd be constructive. Here's what desperately needs fixing at this place:

1. Entrance prices. I've seen them reply to negative reviews on here saying they compare favourably with other similar attractions. No. You don't. Yorkshire Wildlife Park near Doncaster is much, much, much bigger and better. It costs £16.50 for an adult in advance, so double this place, but it has lions, polar bears, giraffes, tigers, camels, and several great indoor play areas, cafes, restaurants etc. More importantly, under 2s are FREE. We could have gone there for £33, but paid £28 to see a few farm animals and a bunch of activities not suitable for our child. The Annual Passes at £40 are equally ridiculously priced, when Yorkshire Wildlife Park is £55. Bottom line - you need to stop charging 1-year-olds to get in. It's wrong. It's unethical. I know you're not trying to be a Wildlife Park or Zoo. It's a kiddies farm. I get that, but make the pricing reflect that. £28 for 2 adults and a child to visit a glorified playground and petting zoo. Ouch.

2. Sort your paths out! I saw another comment from you stating (in October) that you had some solutions in the planning to combat bad weather deterioration of paths. That appeared to be sawdust today. You cannot get away with soil paths in the UK! Even gravel would make a huge difference. Surely you must be considering putting concrete paths down, or at the very least something more suitable, especially with lots of pushchairs visiting. I had to do the long jump over several puddles today.

3. Calling it Piglets Adventure Farm might be a little misleading too. There were only the two sets of piglets with their mothers at the entire farm. I know it's a theme, but we were expecting much more in the way of piggy action today!

4. Train your staff members to take SOME interest in their jobs. Too many of them looked fed up today. They might be fed up, I don't know, but when you work in a customer facing environment with kids around, you have to smile, even if it's not genuine.

5. Offer an alternative footpath route to the playbarn. I know "health and safety" has been cited as a reason against it, probably because it's a live road to someone's house/farm at a guess, but it wouldn't be too difficult to have a segregated pathway and zebra crossing across the drive further down, or even a bridge. Waiting 10-15 mins in the rain to pile onto a tractor and trailer just to get to/from a playbarn seems silly.

6. If you're going to keep the tractor/trailer, sort the station out at the entrance end of things. It was an absolute quagmire. Again - nothing a bit of gravel or concrete wouldn't sort out. It was definitely a health and safety issue today. I witnessed people with crutches or carrying young babies having to jump across puddles.

In conclusion, we will absolutely not be returning. Today is the closest I've ever come to requesting my money back on leaving the attraction. I don't know why I decided not to. After wanting to visit here for so long, and being from the Malton area, I like to support local attractions, so it went beyond a feeling of disappointment today. I felt angry, misled, and felt sorry for all those in the park like us who looked thoroughly miserable. I wish you luck in rectifying the very real issues you have, and I beg you to spend some of the £28 we gave you today on improving an extremely poor visitor attraction, because at the moment, it's embarrassingly poor.

4  Thank DrMLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward S, Guest Relations Manager at Piglets Adventure Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Matt

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re so sorry to hear your visit with us wasn’t what you had hoped.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed meeting our mummy pigs and piglets and petting our animals in the animal barn. We would like to reassure you our animals are of utmost importance to us and are all healthy and happy in specialised enclosures, and looked after by a caring and qualified outdoor animal team.

We have had extremely wet weather this Easter holidays and despite investing in improved pathways it has meant that our carparks are unusually muddy. We’re sorry our entrance prices were not what you had hoped too. We work hard to ensure there is something suitable for everyone at the farm including our Bale Play Baaarn and Indoor Corn Pit, which are particularly popular during the wet weather and for which we have great feedback. As a small family run farm we try hard to set prices in line with similar local attractions. When booked online in advance we charge £7.95 for a child over one and £8.95 for an adult during our school holiday Easter Egg-stravaganza event. This entrance price allows visitors to take part in the Easter Egg Trail, see Live Lambing, attend the Magic Hatter’s Magic shows and lots more including our indoor Bale Play Baaarn, outdoor and animal activities.

Unfortunately due to health and safety reasons we are unable to offer a footpath down to our BalePlay baarn.
Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope you will give us another try later on in the year. We would love to find out more about your experience at Piglets, please email our management team on info@pigletsadventurefarm.com if you would like to discuss your visit further. The Piglets Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic day but were very dissappointed with the food on offer. Pizzas were a 35 minute wait so we decided to go to the cafe near the entrance instead but it was too small with limited choices. It didnt bother us cos we knew there was a cafe outside that did burgers. Queued up to order 1 burger and 2 hot dogs to be told they had sold out. This was at half 1 today. So, we had to settle for a bag of crisps. Why they couldnt have crossed it out on the blackboard to save people queing I dont know. They then said we might have some more in 15 minutes if you want to come back and queue again. No thank you. A real shame, as other than that we had a fantastic day. Take your own food would be my advice.

Thank chrispaEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward S, Guest Relations Manager at Piglets Adventure Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi,
Thank you for your review. We’re so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic day at the farm. We’re sorry to hear about your experience in our cafe. We will pass on all your feedback to our management team as we’re always looking to improve our services. We have lots more exciting events coming up in 2018 and we hope you will visit us again soon. Many thanks, The Piglets Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piglets Adventure Farm also viewed

Gate Helmsley, York
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Piglets Adventure Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing