We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveler rating
222
101
50
22
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
101
50
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews museum gardens well stocked mini bar jar of sweets cowshed products marygate car park coffee machine place to sleep rainfall shower quiet street perfect location continental breakfast nice hotel basement room boutique hotel luxury room restaurants and bars the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Brilliant hotel great amenities great location and friendly staff. Netflix and amazon prime available in the room was a nice touch as well as coffee machine. Price was also very reasonable for mid week stay

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jgaffn771659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2018

My husband and I spent the Late August Bank Holiday weekend at this delightful hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The member of staff who greeted us was very friendly and helpful, he gave us some great advice on places to visit, other staff members were also very friendly. The location of the hotel was perfect for us, right next to The Museum Gardens, and just a short walk to the Centre, it is the perfect base from which to explore all that York has to offer.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ec052018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Lovely comfortable hotel very close to town and Minster. Recently refurbished so room was lovely. Downside to hotel no dining room and no parking have to use public car park down the road from hotel which is £13 per day. You can order breakfast but have to have it delivered to your room.

Room Tip: Lovely room comfortable bed nice bathroom
Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janmartin140457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

visiting for the races, pleasantly surprised to be offered a room to change in on arrival at 10am. Great day at the races, returned to find our luggage in the pre checked rooms, which were well appointed. Great decor, fully stocked mini bar, snacks and high end toiletries. The bed was comfortable, and room quiet.
Great location, with a reasonable public car park 100m walk away. Value, decor and staff so much better than every other hotel we've used in York
Will definitely return for our next visit

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AndyD995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2018

This is a really lovely hotel located on a quiet street, but just a short walk through the beautiful museum gardens to get to all of the city's main attractions. The hotel is thoughtfully decorated in a fresh boutique style, with a nordic feel to it. Our room was excellent in its size, spotless clean, well stocked and with a lovely view overlooking the museum gardens and church. In fact, we enjoyed it so much, we stayed an extra night!

The staff were welcoming and very helpful with recommendations for places to go and restaurants for dinner. Another benefit is that the Marygate car park is located immediately behind the hotel, which means you don't have to travel very far with a heavy suitcase and parking is reasonably priced too. We had a great stay at the Jorvik and would not hesitate to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the museum gardens, you won't regret it! We stayed in room number 17 and the view was perfect!
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chunderchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews