We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bay Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$130
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$136
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton York(York)
US$152
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$186
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$298
US$289
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
119
60
24
18
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
60
24
18
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfree parkinglovely old pubfull englishdressing areab blovely comfy bedthe ritzblossom streettwo nightsshort walk from the train stationcity centrebath showerenjoyed our staydressing tablecooked breakfasteach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The pub hotel is walking distance from the city centre and offers very comfortable bedrooms and hospitality. The breakfast which was included in the price was 10/10. The bar below the rooms offers good ales and a great ambiance. I would certainly recommend it as we had a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the back of the establishment, as there is a main road running along the front and it is quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rochie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

The new management team are already having an impact - bedrooms freshly decorated and looking lovely.

Definitely recommended for a weekend away - a pub with character. Great real ale and a growing gin collection too.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank BenBrooksYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Lovely to have this traditional pub back being managed by welcoming people. Had a good pint and a rhubarb gin... or two! Decor is improving a lot. Lovely and cosy on a freezing day too. We will be back soon

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank TiggerRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

We were greeted with a lovely warm friendly welcome. Shown to our room. No 1. It was larger than expected, clean, it had a lovely period fireplace. There was a good size bathroom with large walk in shower. The bed was lovely and comfy. If your wanting a room with a view this isn’t the place for you but we didn’t plan on spending a lot of time in the room so it was perfect for what we needed. the pub Is in a great location as it was just a short walk from the train station and from the town centre.
The following morning we went down for breakfast before we checked out. It was very good. We were told to help ourselves to cereal, toast and fresh orange juice while we waited for our cooked breakfast. It was fairly large and had everything a cooked breakfast should. An all round great stay. We would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

Friendly pub with good beer and very good gin would recomend a vist
Only down the road from the centre of york and a short walk from the walls so good spot to take a short break and have a beer or two

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Front Office Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are so pleased you had a pleasant experience! We do try to stock a good comprehensive range of drinks to cater for every palette.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews