We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cream tea you will ever have! ”

Sandgate Coffee & Delights
Ranked #1 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Bakery producing cakes etc, selling these items and gifts in a cozy seated area
Restaurant details
Description: Bakery producing cakes etc, selling these items and gifts in a cozy seated area
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

We ran the gauntlet of endless tea rooms, all claiming the best cream teas in whitby/Yorkshire when we happened upon this little gem, its charm and amazing looking baked goods in the window drew us in and we were greated with a warm friendly reception. We sat up stairs in a lovely little tea room it was really cozy and had a real seaside/cottage atmosphere and was adorned with home baked and artisan gifts. We opted for the clotted cream tea and it arrived with a large pot of tea plenty for 3 cups each and the biggest most delicious looking scone I have ever seen! It was warm, buttery and filled to the brim with plump dried fruits and cherries, with a individual pot of jam and generous portion of cold, creamy clotted cream! This is by far the best cream tea I have ever had other places like Betty's pale in comparison compared to to this lovely tea room, the service was warm and friendly, the price was very reasonable for the portion you get and I will definitely be going back,

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

We stopped into this little tea room in whitby for a cream tea. I had a latte and my husband and daughter both had tea. The scones were huge, the cream was really tasty and the jam was gorgeous. The staff were absolutely lovely, really helpful and welcoming. For the three of us the bill was less than £15 which is very competitive for whitby. I will definitely be visiting again!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Sarah Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 June 2018

A hidden little gem in the heart of Whitby
Yummy cakes and Whitby fatties
Lovely gifts too
Staff were very attentive
Cute little seating area

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LindaRH30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Small, cutesy and the cakes look amazing. We had scones, but not any scone!...It was a Whitby Fattie! Packed full of fruit, and the perfect balance of ingredients. Melted in your mouth! I was a good girl and declined the clotted cream. My other half had cheese Fatty and it had plenty of cheese on it, not just a sprinkling. Coffee was fab and the service was great. Go out of there way to accommodate you.
Highly recommend this place!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Kim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely cream tea with fruit fatties to die for. What a lovely hidden gem this shop is. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandgate Coffee & Delights also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Sandgate Coffee & Delights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing