We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Breathtaking

Stunning. Clean and so beautiful. We walked for miles and marvelled at the changing geology. We... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
strawberrygiraffe
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice beach walk

Went at high tide today, in fact bang on high tide. There was a small amount of beach still... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
mr_bukaroo
,
Leicester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,466 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Whitby
from US$69.04
More Info
from US$70.40
More Info
from US$66.33
More Info
from US$347.13
More Info
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveler rating
973
387
71
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
973
387
71
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews donkey rides clean beach lovely beach colourful beach huts rock pools large beach lovely walk low tide walk along the beach west cliff dogs are allowed out of season sunny day fish and chips tides rocks paddle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2021 via mobile

Small but very pleasant and most of all dog free . Remarkably few people on it considering how nice it was , we might have just been lucky .

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2021

Nice beach, made accessible with the lift (although this closes at 5pm). Not overcrowded or full of shops, which makes for a great family day on the beach. The beach and water were clean. Would recommend.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021

Nice Beach. Walked from Sandsend to Whitby and back. They could do with having more public toilets along the walk (obviously not on the beach, but along the nearby areas).

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank The_Doc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

We had a stroll along here. The beach was clean and very family friendly. Dogs are allowed on one part of the beach. It was a really hot day when we went. It was a very pleasant experience

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank Michelle081
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

Not good for disabled and elderly people i went there because they do beach wheelchairs.. The wheelchairs were wet and very dirty not looked after. Beach was nice but too many steep ramps they do have a lift to go down to beach but problem is set in a tunnel which is slippery and is roughly 30 meters long.. Even healthy people were struggling to walk back up the ramps.. Being asian i felt not welcomed more like am a different life form that no one has seen.. The plus point is as i was going back another way to go home there was a beach the had a small ramp and was very easy even for disabled elderly.. I just got soo angry why i did not go to that side.. A few weeks ago i did go to Fleetwood beach, which has beach wheelchairs. The chairs were very clean and looked after the staff were nice aswell only downside to fleetwood is the beach has lots of stones. It is a nice quiet beach also easy to get to small ramp.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank 903imrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews