We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Breathtaking

Stunning. Clean and so beautiful. We walked for miles and marvelled at the changing geology. We... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
strawberrygiraffe
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice beach walk

Went at high tide today, in fact bang on high tide. There was a small amount of beach still... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
mr_bukaroo
,
Leicester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,466 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Whitby
from US$69.04
More Info
from US$70.40
More Info
from US$66.33
More Info
from US$347.13
More Info
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveler rating
973
387
71
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
973
387
71
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews donkey rides clean beach lovely beach colourful beach huts rock pools large beach lovely walk low tide walk along the beach west cliff dogs are allowed out of season sunny day fish and chips tides rocks paddle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2021

Visited while in Whitby. Lovey clean beach with plenty of space to spread out. Amenities close by if you are planning to spend the day here.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank brackleyballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2021

Nice walk in the wind and wet sand it certainly blew the cobwebs away.
Despite Whitby being extremely busy there was plenty of room to accommodate all the tourists.
People were saying that the boat rip around Whitby Bay was to expensive and not worth the money for the 20 minute trip, hence we did not partake of the experience.
We only visited for an afternoon but you do need all day to do the sites.
Car parking is the main problem with this location- maybe a park and ride near by might be a solution, there might be one but we did not see it on our visit.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Teresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2021

Ideal bucket and spade beach, for everyone. My grandson enjoyed his first taste of cricket - many thanks for the patience of the rest of the team!!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank kombuchanaturalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

Nice afternoon at the beach, which can be reached by steps or lift. Sea pretty clean but really cold so a wet suit will be needed. Lifeguard on site, or at least it was in mid July. Watch the tide as the space available change a lot

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Half_Scouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Visiting my home town as I travelled up the east coast as far as Newcastle. It was a pleasure after staying in Robin hoods Bay to come back home sands spotless and the beach towards upgang and Sandsend lovely for swimming shallow, sandy bottom that tapers out past the harbour bars many others enjoyed the same a picnic we'd brought for after, an exellent pauliac chateau Batailey 1985 cold meats exellent followed by a trip out to sea along Whitby Rock on the inside in a relatives boat up and past Sandsend wonderful time. Before moving on to our hotel in Saltburn by the sea.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank johnlX4575KF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews