We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coastal walk drop in.”
Review of Coast Bar & Bistro

Coast Bar & Bistro
Ranked #69 of 228 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: Away from the hustle and bustle of Whitby, Coast Bar & Bistro offers fantastic home cooked food served in sensational surroundings. Situated on the Cleveland Way and close to the Cinder Track, Coast is an ideal drop off for walkers and day trippers. And with late opening on Friday and Saturday and fabulous Sunday lunches we cover every meal option, so come and spend a relaxed evening or lazy afternoon with us either indoors or out on our south facing terrace where the fabulous coastal theme continues. We are both family and dog friendly, with highchairs for tiny tots, baby changing facilities & free WiFi. You will also be able to browse a large selection of Tourist Information. Come and be part of this increasingly popular dining destination where a warm welcome always awaits.
Restaurant details
Description: Away from the hustle and bustle of Whitby, Coast Bar & Bistro offers fantastic home cooked food served in sensational surroundings. Situated on the Cleveland Way and close to the Cinder Track, Coast is an ideal drop off for walkers and day trippers. And with late opening on Friday and Saturday and fabulous Sunday lunches we cover every meal option, so come and spend a relaxed evening or lazy afternoon with us either indoors or out on our south facing terrace where the fabulous coastal theme continues. We are both family and dog friendly, with highchairs for tiny tots, baby changing facilities & free WiFi. You will also be able to browse a large selection of Tourist Information. Come and be part of this increasingly popular dining destination where a warm welcome always awaits.
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Found a real gem in the bar and bistro. Dropped in for coffee and a sandwich and was pleasantly surprised. Fresh produce. Had chicken bacon sandwich,coleslaw salad, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 286lynnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastBarBistro, Owner at Coast Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Hi Lynn
Thank you for your review, we're glad you found us and enjoyed your food. Call again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for coffee, toasted teacake and bacon sandwich. Coffee (latte) was hot, decent coffee beans and not too weak. Toasted teacake was lovely with proper butter and jam and the bacon sandwich (according to my husband) was 'really nice' and, 'not the usual cheap rubbish you get from most cafe's.'

Service was great and the decor was upmarket but welcoming. Everything was extremely clean and we can't wait to return and try some other food from the menu.

Excellent. Thank you!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank PAINTERA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastBarBistro, Owner at Coast Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thanks so much for your positive feedback. Hope you do manage to get back sometime to sample our other menus!
We are open on a Friday and Saturday evening if you fancy more than a toasted teacake!
Kind regards :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2018

My wife and I are regular diners here and never tire of eating Matt’s delicious food. Our weekly family ‘commitments’ though, means we’re only able to eat here on a weekend. This week however, our circumstances changed and we were able to experience a midweek speciality event – their Italian night. This comprised 6 courses of characteristic, mouth-watering Italian dishes which were absolutely scrumptious! But why would we be surprised? After all, this is the same man who amongst his many past achievements, created dishes for Gordon Ramsay who scored him 5 out of 5. No wonder CBB was full that Thursday night!!!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastBarBistro, Owner at Coast Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Thank you so much Gordon for taking the time to review us. We're pleased that you and your wife have been enjoying your meals with us and that you got the chance to experience one of our gourmet evenings! They have been very well received. Hope to see you both again soon. Thanks again Elaine & Matt :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Stumbled across this cafe. The decoration is lovely and immaculate. Food was gorgeous. Definitely return next time I’m in the area.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank LincolnRachel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastBarBistro, Owner at Coast Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

So glad you managed to find us Rachel! We are a little off the beaten track but hope you agree worth the effort once you get here!! Thanks for your kind words, it's much appreciated and hope you do manage to get back this way again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We regularly have a meal at this little gem! Delicious food and very refreshing to have properly cooked veg. The Sunday lunch is excellent. Even if you just want a cuppa and cake you won’t be disappointed give it a go as you are passing. Very Friendly staff and always a friendly welcome. Well done Matt and Elaine.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastBarBistro, Owner at Coast Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hi Linda, thanks for taking the time to review us. We're pleased you've been enjoying your meals with us, Sunday lunch has always been very popular (we just need to remind people to book!!) Hope to see you again soon. Thanks again Elaine & Matt :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Bar & Bistro also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Coast Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing