We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to eat on the edge of Whitby”

Cross Butts Stables Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 228 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Stables restaurant, we are open daily from 7am till late. Whether you are just dropping by for coffee and cake or joining us for breakfast, lunch or an evening meal - our relaxed environment makes us a perfect venue for drinking or dining or both! At the Stables we pride ourselves on our freshly prepared home made food and offer a wide variety of seasonal dishes. Our meals are created by a team of highly experienced chefs using locally supplied quality produce.
Reviewed 11 February 2019

Very pleasant and welcoming staff. Recently visited with elderly mother-in-law who only wanted a dessert but this was no problem. My wife and I both thoroughly enjoyed our meals, the portions were large and my wife was unable to finish her scampi which is most unusual for a portion of scampi. Only the one dessert as we were full but it looked delicious. Good value for money. Actually serves food ALL day. Lovely setting would definitely revisit if in the area.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank rayferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2019

This unusual restaurant appears to have lost its way over the last few years, disappointing as it was very good., portions are much smaller and not quite as well cooked, but still ok for a quick lunch or breakfast

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Daisydog157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2019 via mobile

What a way to have Sunday lunch in Whitby!!!.
The vist the stables restaurant at crossbutts hotel on the guisborough road on the outskirts of Whitby and you won't be disappointed.
Booking is essential but lunch is served from 12-6pm and since our last visit, the dining area has been increased to accommodate more guests.
The menu is varied including the traditional lunch with 4 meats, pork or turkey @ £12.95 or pay £14.95 for sirloin of beef or lamb shank. It might sound pricey but you get a BIG Yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes and the stables stuffing PLUS new potatoes and 6 seasonal vegetables in serving dishes between 2 persons. All accompanied with gravy and relevant sauces.
For 4 people with main courses, puddings and 4 alcoholic drinks, the bill was just over £80.
All in all, an excellent venue to visit with fabulous staff, surroundings and atmosphere.
You won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank DERYLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

Sunday dinner here is as good as it gets.
The food, the people serving the food, the place has such a lovely welcoming atmosphere. Just a beautiful establishment. We love it, try it and you will to.

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2018

Just spent a very enjoyable weekend at the Cross Butts. Good base for looking round Yorkshire.
Our room (No 5 )was a gallery room fancy staircase, smart TV . It was very warm, with comfortable bed. Extremely clean.
The food in the restaurant was excellent. superb breakfast. All the food is locally produced.A well stocked bar (nice crisps).
The staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome from arriving to checking out.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank simon7val7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Butts Stables Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Cross Butts Stables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing