We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
GREAT KIPPERS AND SMOKED BACON

We really look forward to buying kippers and smoked bacon when visiting Whitby. Their kippers are... read more

Reviewed 24 August 2018
David S
,
Huddersfield
A repeat visit from 35 years ago

For many years I have wanted to pop back in here, as a child I fondly remember my late grandfather... read more

Reviewed 14 July 2018
Stephen G
,
Leeds, UK
Read all 128 reviews
  
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
109
12
2
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
12
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kipper pate smoke house bacon henrietta street follow your nose wonderful aroma tiny shop step back in time visiting whitby well worth a visit fortunes smokehouse smoked rookery steps purchase tea
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017

The staff were personable and helpful. Having never had kippers and staying just next door, we knew we needed to have this experience. The smoked kipper pate was great on crackers.

Thank KimOK1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We have bought from the smokehouse many times over the years and always managed to let the attitude of the miserable sods that run it go over our heads . But when you buy stuff that is sub standard you tend not to repeat the exercise . We called in last week and bought 2 pairs of their most expensive kippers , they were awful , dry things that bore no resemblance to anything we have bought there before , really tasteless and after the bones were removed there was were little meat left . I really think it's time they packed in.

5  Thank terrys821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Excellent kippers at a very reasonable price, all smoked on the premises. Nothing better than walking down to the shop, picking up a large kipper and walking back to cook it for breakfast!

1  Thank RR379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2017

A small artisan smoke house producing excellent kippers. They sell several sizes and I love the large ones.

Thank J_Jarndyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

You must make a point to call at Fortunes! The tastiest smoked bacon ever, and their kippers are even better, if that's possible. Haven't tried the pate, but if it's even almost as good as the kippers n bacon it will be excellent. Hey if it's good enough for "The Codfather" (Rick Stein) then it's good enough for anyone!!!

Thank Aletta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews