We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camper van trip”
Review of The Hare & Hounds

The Hare & Hounds
Ranked #27 of 229 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 February 2019 via mobile

Went here for a meal yesterday evening, after a recommendation from someone on campsite.
Wasn't disappointed. My husband had chicken wrapped in Palma ham and I had Whitby scampi, with homemade chips.
Staff really attentive, asking if we would like anymore drinks while we waited for the meal, worth the wait, which wasn't very long .
Very pleasant evening and not badly priced. Will definitely return , when in the area.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Roadrunner31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2019

We came with friends on the last night of our stay and so pleased we chose to eat here, after passing by on numerous occasions and never stopped before.

What lovely food - my husband chose the famous steak and mushroom pie and voted it the best pie he’d ever tasted and my fish and chips were great too.

We will certainly be returning again on our next visit to the area.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susie947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2019

What a lovely pub with friendly staff and excellent food. We had the Sunday roast which was well cooked and the vegetables were really tasty - creamed leeks, red cabbage, swede mash and carrots as well as roast and mash potatoes. We managed to squeeze in a dessert which was very good. The chef seems very talented. Would highly recommend and will be back!!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shazzapozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2019

We had no idea the Hare and Hounds was so very good. They must have an excellent chef. The pie was so tasty, full of meat in a lovely sauce with fantastic puff pastry on top. The seasonal vegetables were really wonderful. You could have hand cut chips or potatoes.

Definitely a place to return to as soon as possible!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2019

Due to now working in local area , decided with wife to try one of local pubs close to Whitby , lass,s at work highly recommend this eating house just outside Whitby on main road to Scarborough. So whilst having a nice trip out we called for evening meal. Due to it being January the pub had a few locals in bar but few eating so we went into dining area and having a look at menu and specials on board , my wife chose chicken with veggies and i went for seafood pasta with garlic bread.
So drinks sorted , about 15 to 20 minute wait for food to come so know it was cooked fresh and it was worth waiting for , wife said her,s was lovely and it was gone , mine had all sorts of seafood from muscles to prawns , all different types of fish and massive pile of pasta in a bloodly lovely sauce....massive portion , so big i could not finish it all and it was awful having to leave any.
Looked at sweets but to be honest really would not do it justice to have any as wife and i was stuffed , so coffee and pot of tea later we thanks waitress and passed on thanks to chef....good cash tip lefted and info,d them we would be back and highly recommend to all.
So if you are a local bod or somebody on holiday or staying in near by dwellings get your lovely bodies here and have a wonderful meal at a fair price and say you got the idea from a lad who works at nearby Hospitial and loves his scan.......and this was lovely scan.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markeland2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare & Hounds also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing