We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveler rating
305
169
65
31
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
305
169
65
31
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews annex room scampi sunday lunch coastal path main building the pub overlooking the sea lovely walk lovely location lovely room short break toast plenty of choice a lovely stay full english breakfast many thanks whitehouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2021

A large hotel set high up. A large garden for outside eating . A nice lunch menu offerering hot and cold choices. Served nicely and cooked well The staff are friendly and helpful. All Covid restrictions in place .

Room tip: Rooms at the front have the best view
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarilynMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2021

We were walking along the coast and spotted the White House and decided to stop for a drink and a snack.
We sat in the beer garden at the back which has a great view over Whitby golf course and the coast.
Food and service was very good. Prawn coctail and prawn sandwich were excellent. The chips that came with the sandwich were the best I had during an enjoyable short stay in Whitby.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

Just had an excellent 3 day stay at the White House Inn. Accommodation was very good comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good. We ate here 2 nights out of 3 and I must say the food was excellent. The bar/dining area was very well decorated and very comfortable with views out onto Whitby Golf Course. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating. Will definitely be making a return visit.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank philly7464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2020 via mobile

This our third visit here just this year!! am totally smitten with this hotel as it’s just in the most stunning location. The staff (all of them) are so helpful and friendly and they always make you feel so welcome. The last couple of times we have booked the balcony rooms and even though they are slightly more expensive they are without doubt the best rooms in the house with the stunning views over the golf course and sea. Unfortunately they were booked up this time so we stayed in the annexe rooms. They were lovely and cosy and very clean. The only downside was that we had a water tank in the roof of the room and when everyone was showering etc in the block on a morning it was really noisy when refilling. This wouldn’t put me off staying in the annexe again though. The food at the White House is exceptional. The breakfast is fab and one of the chefs makes the most divine scrambled eggs :-) we had dinner there too and I’ve got to say the fish and chips were the best I’ve ever tasted! The staff are fabulous and always friendly and they all stick to the Covid rules and regulations. I am delighted that the White House has bounced back after lockdown and I am already looking into my next trip here.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Vodkaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2020

What a beautiful place to stay. The location is great just a short walk to the centre. The walk to the centre has the views of the stunning coastline. The room was a good size and spotless. The staff were very friendly and made us very welcome. We ate in the restaurant every night as the food was so good. I even had a pudding each night because they were so good. Compliment to the chef. Same with the breakfast in the morning, very good. Big thanks to Tim and Demi for making our stay enjoyable.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Amanda001111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews