We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$166
View deal
eDreams
US$167
US$150
View deal
SAVE US$17
Hotels.comUS$167
FindHotelUS$167
TravelocityUS$167
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveler rating
415
225
84
42
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
415
225
84
42
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park roll top bath theatre royal city centre eggs benedict lovely hotel large bathroom full english wedding party saturday night cooked breakfast yogurt receptionist minibar venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2019

It looks like quite a grand hotel from the outside, but inside, it is a bit passé. Reception was friendly, the room itself was nice but dated. Breakfast was good, although we found it unprofessional that about an hour into breakfast they had already run out of English muffins. What prompted me to give this hotelk only two stars, is the fact that upon leaving they charged us for a morning newspaper. During check-in they asked us which newspaper we liked. We didn't care for one, really, but it was presented as being included in the price anyway. In my view it is unacceptable to not communicate clearly about which serves are not included in your roomprice. Thumbs down.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MaartenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcBGM, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2019

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay.

As the building is 15th Century, we would like to keep parts of the hotel in relation to this era.
We do however take all feedback seriously and we appreciate your thoughts.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and I apologize for the lack of English muffins. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our chef and to make sure our stock levels are being checked frequently.

I will also be sure to pass on your comments regarding the service at reception, yes we do charge for the newspapers however have a selection within our lounge area that are for guests to have a read.
I have amended our confirmation email so that future guests are aware news papers are not complimentary.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Best regards

Liza Dunnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 April 2019

We stayed for one night , the reception staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
The hotel has an excellent location in the center of Norwich with a large car park, we enjoyed drinks on the terrace in the lovely sunshine before going out for the evening. Breakfast was also very good.
Thanks for a lovely stay we will definitely be returning.

Room tip: some have a small balcony which is nice
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcBGM, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2019

Hello,

Thank you very much not only for you taking the time to leave a review but also for your kind words.

Every member of our staff are a great asset to St Giles House Hotel and I will be sure to pass on your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Best regards

Liza Dunnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2019

Just had a brilliant weekend in Norwich, the hotel was lovely, rooms beautifully furnished and very clean with crisp white lovely bedding. Staff very friendly and super helpful we even got some great recommends for places to see. Location couldn't be better right in the centre of town and plenty of car parking tucked away so you dont have to worry about your car. Breakfasts great choice and well cooked.

Room tip: We had 4 rooms, 2 of them suites, a twin and a double and all were beautifully furnished and very clean
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcBGM, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2019

Good afternoon Paula,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review following your stay.

Thank you for your kind words. I am very happy to hear you had a great stay with us and I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Have a great day

Kind regards

Liza Dunnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2019

We haven't received any contact or a response to email since reading in the EDP about the liquidation. We had booked our wedding with them, their planner seemed wonderful and professional so we had every faith. I emailed on 4/4 simply asking for an update and still haven't heard anything. I understand they must be busy trying to rectify the situation, or perhaps the events team no longer exists, but if the owners were looking to save the business and honor obligations surely contacting and reassuring those with bookings should be a priority?
My partner went in and was told no one was available to speak with him, but if he wants a refund he can contact their lawyers. We are now moving our wedding elsewhere. This of course was a little stressful as we'd booked ceremony times etc in accordance with this booking. It's sad because it was a beautiful venue. I just wish they had sent us an e-mail if they were having problems or needed to cancel rather than ghosting us ... I should have known something was amiss when the door handle to the bar dropped off as we were looking around, :)

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nell1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcBGM, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2019

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

After the company went into liquidation, the remaining staff pulled together as best as they could to keep the hotel functioning. There were very stressful times as you may imagine.
We were indeed still honoring all weddings and as many events as we could providing we could give the best service as possible with the team we had at the time.

I would like to apologize for the lack of response you had when the company went into liquidation.
This must have been a very stressful and daunting time for you both.

I hope your wedding is going to be the best day of your lives and we wish you all the best for your future.

We are now under new management and are back in a strong position with a great team.

We would like to invite you to our re-launch party on the 20th July from 5pm.

Best regards

Liza Dunnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2019 via mobile

St Giles has gone into liquidation and although the landlord has stated In the newspaper that he will honour all event bookings, he is not !!
We had our anniversary party booked for 2 weeks time and when we visited the manager she would not let us speak with the landlord, just kept saying we have nothing to worry about. Some reassurance that was!
Hence we cancelled our party, lost our deposit and 're booked elsewhere.
Then found out from our new venue that the landlord is not honouring future events even weddings, total dishonesty, staff not paid for 2 months yet they've been taking bookings for events and spa treatments knowing they were in trouble.
Do not give your money to this hotel, you won't get it back !

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMcBGM, General Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2019

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
After the company went into liquidation, the remaining staff pulled together as best as they could to keep the hotel functioning. There were very stressful times as you may imagine.
We were indeed still honoring all weddings and as many events as we could providing we could give the best service as possible with the team we had at the time.

I am sorry to hear you didn't feel reassured and this provoked you to re booked elsewhere. I hope you both had an amazing anniversary.

We are now under new management and the hotel is now back in a strong position.
I would like to invite you to our relaunch party on the 20th July from 5pm.

Kind regards

Liza Dunnell
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews