We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$132
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/21
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/21
StayForLong
US$154
US$116
View deal
SAVE US$38
Hotels.comUS$131
Expedia.comUS$131
getaroom.comUS$154
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
189
55
13
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
189
55
13
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden suite city centre safety measures lovely hotel breakfast buffet was good cooked to order minute walk single bed breakfast and evening meal one way system air conditioning unthank road car park the general manager birthday party wedding reception good size
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2019

Stayed at the George for 2 nights whilst visiting our daughter who is at University at Norwich. We love this hotel and on our last visit commented how good the menu in the restaurant looked. This visit we booked a table and had a wonderful meal from the extensive menu. The quality of the meal and the friendly service was excellent. A lovely relaxing hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Itisonlymyopionion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186342Jules, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Hi Helen, We are really pleased to hear you tried our Arlington Bistro during your recent stay and enjoyed your meal,(We are very proud of our chefs and the amazing food they produce.) Thank you so much for the great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2019

The hotel is very well presented, with lovely decor. The hotel has a good amount of free parking and is walking distance from the city centre. The staff are friendly and happy to help.
The only downside was a poor nights sleep, noise seems to travel from other rooms and the corridors. Then when we had managed to get off to sleep a very loud Cuckoo woke us uo just after 4.30!he then persisted for good hour... no chance of getting back to sleep as other guests up and about and it felt like they had joined us the the room.
Rooms are a decent size, and the air conditioning unit wirked a treat.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 240,812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186342Jules, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2019

Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding the hotel and staff.
Sadly we are unable to control the noise of the cuckoo, and other guests being up and about.
Having said that, a while back I remember reading an article in the telegraph that stated British scientists had confirmed that the numbers of cuckoos have declined substantially, joining the “red list” of most endangered birds in the UK and people now go an entire year or longer without hearing one, so I guess hearing one is quite a privilege to some.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2019

The whole experience was lovely on arrival the hotel looked lovely and the reception staff when checking us in very pleasant quick and efficient, we ate in the restaurant and it was amazing the food was absolutely brilliant presentation lovely and the staff was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank annjulia59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186342Jules, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2019

Thank you very much indeed for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 May 2019

My wife & I decided to stay @ this hotel for our visit to Norwich based on reviews via TripAdvisor. It is about 15 minutes walk to the City center.
We have stayed @ a number of Norwich area Hotels in the past.
The exterior & carpark are well presented. The interior decor is also very pleasing to our eyes. All staff met were well presented, polite & friendly.
Our room (No22) was an Executive - Double Room, (not sure what makes it 'executive' from a 'normal' double room!). The room was in very good decor & clean.
We were a little disappointed in the wardrobe space (no shelf) just small bedside chest of drawers. The shower was over bath with a spotless plastic curtain, though we do not like this arrangement the layout of the bathroom cannot support a glass partition without a redesign. The bed was O/K. We dined in for three nights.
The food was tasty & well presented the bar has a good choice of ales.
Expect a half hour to forty-five-minute wait for the main dish as I believe it will be cooked when ordered.
Thank you to the staff for their help with the clothing left behind.
Overall we enjoyed our stay & can recommend this Hotel as a place to stay while visiting Norwich.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186342Jules, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2019

Dear Kenneth, Thank you very much for reviewing the George Hotel. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you again for the overall recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2019 via mobile

I really mean it. This hotel would give any so-called boutique hotel a run for its money and beat it hands down. The public spaces are decorated beautifully, the bedrooms equally so. The bed was really comfy, I slept better than I do in my own bed at home. And the curtains! The curtains are the thickest and softest I’ve ever encountered, keeping any chill and light out, while the air conditioning unit gives you warmth or coolness at the touch of a button.

We stayed three nights, had breakfast every morning and ate in the restaurant two nights. And that’s because the food was delicious.

But above all that, the one element that truly blew us away. The people working at The George. Everyone - and I mean everyone - made us feel welcome, that we mattered and that we were more than just guests. We became part of the family. We have never, in all our holidays both in the UK and abroad, met a group of people so friendly, so natural and so authentic in the service they provide. Nothing was too much trouble. The amount of times we heard colleagues offering help to other colleagues, to do things once they’d finished their shift, to muck in and help out. There are a lot of hotels who could learn a huge amount from this amazing place and this exceptional team of people. Our special thanks go to Ali, Donna and Mollie, Julie and Ian. Thank you. We’ll be back!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CarolineL2995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186342Jules, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

Thank you so much for such an amazing review! It is our pleasure to look after such lovely, appreciative guests such as yourselves and it really does make our job all the more worth while when we receive such wonderful feedback.
Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you back at The George soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews