We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place !”

L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon
Ranked #1,010 of 24,683 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$51 - US$157
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Drawing on Joel Robuchon's internationally renowned culinary expertise, already accredited with several Michelin Stars at restaurants throughout the world, L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon's philosophy is based on serving simple cuisine of the most exceptional quality. This London restaurant has been awarded Michelin Star, as well as 3 AA Rosettes, establishing it as one of the most exceptional places to dine in London. Robuchon's menu delights the palate with clean insightful flavours and refreshingly understated presentation. The dishes are predominantly French with Italian and Spanish influences. The dining experience at L'Atelier is an interactive one. On the ground floor, the eating counter surrounds the entire kitchen where the food is prepared. Robuchon sees the immediate benefit of this Japanese-inspired layout to chefs, as one can gauge the reaction of clients, and even converse with them whilst they watch their food being prepared. Unlike the sister restaurants in Paris and Tokyo, the London restaurant also has another 20 seats where diners can sit opposite each other. Meanwhile, La Cuisine on the first floor offers more traditional restaurant seating in a setting that could be likened to dining in the kitchen itself. Wherever you are seated you will enjoy the highest quality food in an informal, convivial environment. Valet parking is also available. Please note, last reservations are taken half an hour prior to closing time. Dress code: Smart Casual, shorts are not permitted.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great night at L'atelier, we took the menu decouverte with wine pairing, and all was just perfect, beautiful, tasty, all the wines well chosen by Jerome, the description of what we had in the plate given by Rui, and the atmosphere with the chef Andrea and his team, that was great, thanks for the little tasting !! I really have to thank you for the amazing moment that we had for my Mother's birthday.
We'll be back !

Thank Nicolas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latelier_london, Manager at L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Nicolas J,

Thank you for providing such positive feedback regarding your visit to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon.

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience with us and I have passed on all your kind words to the staff.

We hope that we can see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Liam Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

When Robuchon started with this new concept a decade or so ago it was very welcome - three star food in relaxed surroundings. The restaurants had that energy that only can come from a genius three star chef and none came better than Robuchon.
But the energy has died out and all you are left with is a business concept,where the chief accountant has become the chef and all of a sudden you are very exposed because at these prices anything less than perfection is a rip off.
Tonight with the new simplified menu I had the Pyrenees lamb cutlets. Main course. Three cutlets ! A bite each at best.this was billed as a main course. It used to be 6 cutlets.
Dog eared menus, sommeliers who don’t know Cabernet from Pinot, ridiculous prices. Absolutely all they care about is how much money they can make out of you rather than how they can please you,At every turn all you smell is business rather than hospitality.Truly deserves to fail.

Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latelier_london, Manager at L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Steven P,

Thank you for providing feedback on your visit to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon and I am sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding your visit with us.

As you noticed we have recently re- formatted our menu and have actually reduced prices which we feel is in line with the Michelin star London market, I am sorry to hear that your views differ.

I was aware of your frustration on the evening in regards to the portion size of your lamb cutlets and ultimately did offer you a selection of cheese on the evening to subdue your vexation and ensure you left our restaurant pleased however this obviously was not successful.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback and we will use comments to improve our offering for our future guests.

Kindest regards,

Liam Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Great restaurant.Brilliant concept.The reception by the staff was so friendly and informative.We chose the menu d’ hiver accompanied with the wine pairing by our sommelier Charlotte and certainly wasn’t disappointed.My wife said it was simply amazing and who would argue. Certainly recommend this restaurant

Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latelier_london, Manager at L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Alan C,

Thank you so much for providing such positive feedback on your visit to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon.

It is so pleasing to know that you enjoyed your experience with us from the moment you walked in the door.

I have passed on all your kind comments to the team as it makes all our efforts worthwhile.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Liam Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Sat at the counter you get to watch the chef and the team work
It’s fascinating to watch them and you really appreciate how hard they work
Food was sublime along with the service
The sommelier Charlotte Page was fantastic. Provided wines i would never have chosen and they all worked brilliantly
Relaxed atmosphere and no rush

Thank FFlierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latelier_london, Manager at L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear FFlierman,

Thank you very much for providing feedback on your previous visit to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience and found both our food and service sublime.

I have passed on your feedback to Charlotte and she is thankful.

We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Liam Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Very happy to be honoured to try the well know Michelin stared restaurant, dishes are well composed - service was bad, not a proper french Michelin service, bread was not refilled, food was not hot enough, anyway was an experience. But not what I have expected for Michelin

Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latelier_london, Manager at L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear William L,

Thank you for providing feedback on your previous visit to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon, we are all very happy to hear that you were pleased with the dishes however it is worrying to learn that you were not impressed with the service from our front of house team.

I thank you for your feedback and have passed all your comments to our team to ensure none of our future guest are affected in the same way.

I hope that you will give us another chance in the future and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Liam Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing