We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantique lunch”
Review of J. Sheekey

J. Sheekey
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 23/09
20:00
Ranked #1,117 of 24,029 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$41 - US$68
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: In the heart of Covent Garden, J Sheekey is a fish and seafood restaurant offering the finest fish, oysters, shellfish and other fruits de mer. Discreetly tucked away on St Martin's Court between Charing Cross Road and St Martin's Lane, J Sheekey is a stone's throw from many of the West End's theatres, the cinemas of Leicester Square and vibrant quarters of Covent Garden and Soho. The Royal Opera House and Coliseum, Palace Theatre, Donmar Warehouse, Wyndham's, Duke of York and Noel Coward Theatres are close by, making the restaurant perfect for pre and post theatre dining. All fish is responsibly caught from sustainable sources.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a delux seafood platter & lobster and dessert. The food was very good and fresh. For two the bill came at £206 which included £2 per person cover charge and 12.5% service charge, will except a perfect service!!! Our waiter was very nice but empty glasses of water, run out of mayonnaise didn’t been ask to refill, ask for tooth pick still waiting, just 1 sugar with double expresso ask for more and bring just 1 extra. I would except for this price to have a top noch service!!! Thinking the service didn’t deserve £22 I have ask to retrieve the service charge thinking to leave a bit of cash. Our waiter ask if any problems I explained I don’t think it worth 12.5 % the reply was he did replace the bols for the shells thanks for that. Didn’t leave anything at the end

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank DayTrip9091
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 3,126 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great looking restaurant and tbe service is second to none but the food is not such great value. We ordered a steak for me snd a fish type burger for my son. My steak was undercooked and both the portions of chips had black on them. The meal with two drinks came to £100.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Trinalshelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I see that J Sheekey has had some poor or average reviews since reopening it, but our lunch experience today was as excellent as the last time I was here a few years back. Great service from our waitress and absolutely delicious food. The new terrace was a lovely place to sit. We took our time and weren’t hurried at all. I had te £28 seafood platter which was especially amazing for that price!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Today was my birthday and I chose this restaurant and it was a great choice The food was very nice and the staff was also great and the service was more than great I would highly recommend this restaurant, they were so nice they even gave me a dessert for my birthday.
And one who served us was Alexander he was so helpful and we had a great time they made my day special thank you

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank noraalotaibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2021

Nice meal. Good fish. But, ...
... nowhere could I see on the menu the £2 cover charge (+service charge on the cover charge), so that's £9 on a meal for four. I didn't see it on the menu, not even hidden at the bottom.
It's annoying when businesses do this.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clifford291
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Sheekey also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to J. Sheekey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.