We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed&Breakfast”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #735 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 22, 2016

Hotel is located nearby Hyde Park and around 3 minutes of walk from Paddington train station and underground station. Room was clean, but small. Someone could have a problem with small rooms and short beds. Breakfast was good - in offer are classic english breakfast or continental breakfast (including roasted toast bread and cheese, after asking you can get some extra eggs). Tea, juice and cooffe or cereals with milk also served. Staff was very helpful.
The walls are very thin, so you can hear every move of your neighbours above you or move from the hall. Also you can hear a tube (if you have room in basement, e.g. room 23). Otherwise the room was very quiet. Price/quality/location is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 401 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2016

The hotel is situated in a charming area,very close to all popular places.The room was big and nice with nice furniture,bathroom was excellent,comfortable beds,soft pillows.No hairdryer in the bathroom is a minus.English breakfast was fine but the continental breakfast was really poor.The stuff is very kind,always helpful and smiling.The price is reasonable for what you get.When I go back to London,I would choose that place again.

Room Tip: Choose room 5 on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Juliana_bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016

These two 100-plus year old hotels are very near Paddington Station, and just a short walk from Edgware Road and Hyde Park (among many other London attractions). They are two doors apart, and you use the reception at the Belmont to check into either the Belmont or Astoria. We had a ground floor room with two beds and en suite bathroom in the Astoria for 79 British pounds for the night (it was supposed to be 79 American dollars but that's a separate story, thanks to Kayak and Hotels.com for the come-on, lowball rate). The twin beds (we had booked a double) were acceptably comfortable. The pillows were flat as crepes. We had a TV (which pointed at the floor) and was difficult to use. The remote was missing. The hotel offers free wifi, and it worked okay once we got the receptionist to provide us with the password (which was supposed to be in the room). The toilet room was separate from the shower, and both were tiny (too tiny for plus-sized Americans). But the shower was new and powerful, and most welcome. No amenities at all, save a very small bar of soap. Towels were passable. The rate included a full hot English breakfast for each of us, and it was pretty good. The receptionist allowed us to leave our luggage for the afternoon in the lobby, after we had checked out, which was most appreciated. Good value, all in all, especially for the location. We noticed several guests proclaimed to be regulars.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jg3arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

We wanted a cheap one night stay near the centre with parking available and were very pleased. friendly, helpful staff, clean room, surprisingly quiet! Our room was small and basic but for the price we were not expecting luxury. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for affordable clean accommodation and we would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bexo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Good price and very good position. Close to paddington station tube. Very kind staff. I'll get back here!!!
Room n.6 for 2 persons is good and quite.
English Breakfast or continental..good and ask if you want more..

Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
2  Thank nosybe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#424 of 1,076 in London
1,095 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#736 of 1,076 in London
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#544 of 1,076 in London
805 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#860 of 1,076 in London
647 reviews
Dolphin Hotel
#604 of 1,076 in London
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 100 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #735 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₱3,097 - ₱8,517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont & Astoria Hotel London
Belmont And Astoria Hotels
Belmont Astoria London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing