We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great meal”

Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Lobstershack
Ranked #3,754 of 24,672 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$13 - US$53
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Lobstershack. Home smoked Bar.B.Q, lobster, steaks, margaritas & music. We're a local institution, with an international following. Our Covent Garden restaurant sits on Maiden Lane, a one minute walk from Covent Garden, and best accessed either from Covent Garden, Holborn or Leicester Square tube stations. Reviews - Square Meal, 'A gut bursting menu of deep south favourites' The Nudge, 'As far as southern-style BBQs go... Big Easy is the only one' MTV Travel Co, 'Southern states food so good you'll forget you're in London' Emerald Street, 'The kind of feast Big Easy are known for: Impeccably cooked steaks and massive amounts of seafood'
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We ate here on a Monday evening for my son's birthday. We decided to share lots of things as we couldn't decide what we wanted. We ordered two of one starter but only one arrived, the waitress was very apologetic and said she'd misheard and offered to get another portion, but we knew we'd have enough food so didn't worry. The table was a little cramped but the waitress did an amazing job squeezing everything in. We were sat downstairs next to the music, which was a bit overbearing at times as we couldn't hear each other talk, but it was pretty good and did give a good atmosphere and it did break off a few times. We weren't hurried away from the table and had a nice relaxed meal. The beans were lovely, lobster mac n cheese amazing. The mixed platter was great, though the chicken was quite dry and tough.
Drinks were good, though cocktails a bit odd as they're pretty much a cocktail slushy (full of crushed ice). Overall a really nice evening.

Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Easy R, Guest Relations Manager at Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Lobstershack, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Maria P,

We're so glad you chose to celebrate your sons birthday with us, we really hope you had a good experience. We really appreciate you taking the time out to leave us feedback on your experience. We are happy to hear the waitress tried to correct the mistake made and that the service was up to standard. We will continue to strive for the very best from our teams.

The Lobster Mac n Cheese is such a good chose and a favorite here at the Big Easy. It's nice to hear you enjoyed as much as we love making it.

Thank you again for leaving us a review and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 116 of 3,046 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I can't believe that in restaurant writer and the supervisor don't want to let the customers order more stuff. I have never experience such situation that they didn't let us order deserts and more wine because they are too busy before the bank holiday! Would you expect such excuse? So unwelcome staff and service! I'm not surprised that restaurants in London are shut down if the people serving there don't want to serve customers. Waiters complaining about no tip? Work and deserve It! Customers are not stupid to pay for every rubbish you give them!

4  Thank Magda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My partner and I visited Big Easy at Covent Garden today for an anniversary lunch. We arrived 30 minutes early to have a drink first and were shown to our table straight away (which was great).

However this went downhill when we were placed at a tiny table where you touched elbows with the people sat on either side. Meaning no privacy whatsoever. The music inside was also very loud making it impossible to hear what my partner was saying.

We then ordered 2 boozy brunch options each with the BBQ platter and pitcher of Mojito.

The food came very quickly (which was great as we hadn’t eaten all day). However the tables were so small that the platter, 2 plates and drinks struggled to fit making it very difficult to eat.

The fries and sides were lovely. However... the smoking of the meat was so so strong (my other half loves BBQ food so this shocked me). We found it difficult to eat.

The ribs were complete fat with no meat which made them uneatable, the chicken was over-powered by seasoning/smoke and the beans were cold. Also, the mojito was simply slushy ice which tasted nothing like the cocktail.

We left more than half of the platter, and drank less than half a cup of mojito each before asking for the bill. (Costing £70 with a service-charge of 12.5%).

I hesitantly paid for the lunch without the waiter asking why we had left so much. He left quickly to clear a table before I could explain (I hate causing a scene so paid prior to questioning).

Once home my partner has become unwell with vomiting and diarrhoea and my stomach is churning (I’m yet to suffer any D and V, however I only ate the chips and a mouthful of meat). We haven’t eaten anything else all day so can only assume the food from Big Easy has upset our stomachs.

Really wouldn’t recommend and a massive shame that it’s ruined our anniversary lunch. Wouldn’t return, sorry.

4  Thank Roxy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Easy R, Manager at Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Lobstershack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Roxy H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback in regards to your experience at the Big Easy.
We're so sorry to hear about your experience and we do hope you and your partner are feeling better.
In regards to the table space, if there is room our team will happily seat you somewhere else to ensure that you have comfortable and of course have enough table room to enjoy your anniversary and food platters. Understandable you didn’t wat to make a fuss but would rather you let us know at the time so we can do something about it. This also goes for the food as well. If we have provided something that you are not happy with, please let management know so they are able to speak to the kitchen for you and place something more to your liking on the table.
We will be speaking to our teams in regards to making sure they have asked out patrons about their meal, which will of course open dialogue so we know how your dinner went.
If there are any other suggestions you would like to share with us, please email us at CGlisten@bigeasy.co.uk.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Hospitality is what restaurants are all about, but Big Easy are a long way from that. We arrived and were told we had a table for 90 minute's but reminded when we tried to order dessert and wine at 60 minutes, that we would be expected to leave promptly, that was despite at least 6 empty tables adjacent. We raised this on settling the bill (without a service charge due to the above) and were advised that tables were being limited because of staff shortages related to Easter, so Big Easy making their problem, my discomfort as a guest.They even had a member of staff stasi like, and very obviously, checking tables for over stayers.

So would we go back...No. We go for a meal out to enjoy ourselves not to be on an inhospitable production line. We went elsewhere to enjoy a nice dessert and bottle of wine in a restaurant where we were made welcome...something Big Easy have sadly lost.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank dt1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Big family get together. We wanted somewhere lively and fun and central for us all to get to. The waitress was brilliant and very efficient and really looked after us. The food was great and as expected for this type of restaurant, prices were ok for London too. Music and band really added to the atmosphere.
Unfortunately the only area which was a real let down was the toilets; 3 out of the 6 had signs which said ‘out of use’ and two of the others had no loo paper in them. I can’t believe a plumber couldn’t have been found to fix them, this is London not some out of the way village. Apparently the men’s weren’t much better either.
Come on Big Easy - get your act together!
Other than that it was perfect.

Thank Jagster1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Lobstershack also viewed

 

Been to Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Lobstershack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing