We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$377
US$314
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$247
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$167
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$148
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury(London)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$299
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
90
158
110
60
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
158
110
60
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings crossst pancrascomfy bedrooms are smallclean towelswould stay againmain roadnext trip to londonexcellent locationshort stayone night stayquiet streetconvenient locationeuston stationexcelsioreurostartube
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Hotel location good found easily after arriving on the train. Firstly the room smelt of the drain, no wonder when we arrived the windows were wide to try and get rid of the smell. Soon as the window was shut the smell started to come back. After taking this issue up with staff i was told they couldn't smell anything! Room could of been cleaner over all wasnt the best. Paying an extra £5 for 2 tea bags and 2 sachets of coffee with 4 little tubs of uht milk is ridiculous and not stated when booking. Made me laugh they want to charge silly prices for tea and coffee but dont even have nearly matching cups in the room!!
My main issue that i complained about twice through the night was the noise. Opposite the hotel is a park type area with benches and a basketball court. Its locked at night, but youths climbed over and played basketball and blasted out music till gone 3am it was ridiculous. I went down and complained to be told they will contact the park warden or take it further. The music just echoed around the area. Nothing was done about it. Myself and my eldest child hardly slept at all. It was ridiculous. We woke to the park open in the morning to see 2 men dealing drugs and a man urinating up the tree facing the hotel exposing all! I had to tell my son to not open his shutter in the room to stop him from seeing that sight.
I am fully aware the hotel have no control over the park. But from discussing with the member of staff working at night it clearly is an on going issue that isnt getting address.
When complaining again in the morning they couldnt of cared less that hardly any of us had any sleep. Nearly £165 for 1 nights stay no breakfast no tea or coffee unless you want to pay extra, very little sleep. Unhelpful staff. I was very disappointed and tired the end of the stay. I asked at the time for a refund and was refused and i have taken it further and still had no luck!! Avoid unless u dont mind being kept up most of the night!!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Corinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review, Corinne. We are grateful to receive constructive feedback, as this is vital for the continued improvement of our services to all our guests.

We are sorry to hear that not all aspects of your stay met with your expectations. We strive to offer the best possible quality of service and, when we receive a report of a problem, no matter how small, we try and resolve it as soon as possible. You are right in stating that we have no control over the park. It is under the control of the local Council who monitor it regularly. We are surprised at the goings-on, as it is usually a quiet park at night time.

We do not charge for tea and coffee, which is available free of charge from Reception. It would have been helpful to know when you stayed with us. In any case, we will check our records and then deal properly with the member of staff on duty, as you should not have been charged.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel. As you know, we are a five-minute walk from Kings Cross/ St Pancras International, the London Underground, the cross-rail network Thameslink, a variety of bus routes, a taxi rank, and a vast array of eating options to suit every pocket.

If you book directly with us, we can offer better terms and conditions, including the Best Available Rate (BAR) and a free upgrade subject to availability.

Regards.
Manager, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The hotel is situated a couple of minutes walking distance from St. Pancras, very handy for Eurostar travellers, also because they have luggage deposit available. Room was a good size for a short-term stay, decent bathroom as well.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JessicaBelgium_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for staying with us Jessica, and thank you for taking the time to write your positive review.
All feedback is important to us, as it helps us improve our services to all our guests.

Yes, you can check in early and leave your luggage with us free of charge until the rooms are ready for use. You obviously explored this exciting capital city, and enjoyed the sights of London while we took care of your luggage.

Kings Cross/ St Pancras is a five-minute walk from the hotel, and Eurostar will take you to Paris, Lille and even Amsterdam. If you are travelling within London or wider afield within the UK, the London Underground is also a five-minute walk away, as is the cross-rail network Thameslink.

We are extremely competitively priced for a hotel in central London, and all our room sizes are clearly displayed on our website (we have different classifications of rooms).

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Book directly with us and we can offer you the Best Available Rate (BAR) and a free upgrade to rooms subject to availability.

Regards
Manager, Guest Relations
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

After staying here a couple of years ago. In need of a last minute hotel near kings cross I thought I would on the off chance stay again. Yet I returned to be greeted my 3 rude clueless staff at the reception area, who gave the impression they where overwhelmed by the general hotel work. No knowledge available rooms that day I was told to search myself online to see what is available. How strange the hotel reception staff doesn’t know what rooms are available or even bothered to assist you. Finding they had at least 10 free rooms available after an uneasy start I was about to book. However this hotel won’t offer any option of early check in, no option of a room to shower in whilst waiting, or the option to store luggage until check in times. The staff working on the day I visited the hotel give the impression they don’t care and where very rude. Why stay here when there are many options of hotels in the surrounding area, with genuine friendly helpful staff and hotel policies. I would advice to only book here if your prepared to be greeted in an unfriendly manor by rude, clueless staff. This hotel has 2 others venues such which all require access by the same reception. There are much better value hotels in the area with staff that actually welcome guests and care about customer service and good business standards

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
3  Thank AdamRussell545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for staying with us Adam, and for taking the time to write your review. All feedback is important to us, as it helps us improve our services to all our guests.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the reception staff. All our staff are trained to the highest standards, so it is surprising that you got the impression that they were not knowledgeable about the number of rooms available.

We do in fact offer an early check-in, whereby you can check in and leave your luggage with us whilst you explore this exciting city. At your request, we can take your luggage to your room before you return. As with all hotels in London, it is normal for guests to enter their rooms from 3pm. If our rooms are ready earlier, we will happily let you enter your room as soon as it is ready.

We are extremely competitively for a hotel in central London. As you are aware, we are based in a quiet square, a few minutes' walk from the hustle and bustle of central London. We are a five-minute walk from King's Cross / St Pancras International, the London Underground and the cross-rail network Thameslink.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Book directly with us and we can offer you the Best Available Rate (BAR) and a free upgrade to rooms subject to availability.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Manager, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We stayed here as a party of seven for four nights. Booked directly on the website.
The checking in was seamless and very pleasant. Service with a smile is what we got all the way through our stay!
You cannot beat the location or the value-for-money.
We even did a day-trip to Paris, and this hotel is literally three minutes walking from the International train station that will take you to Paris, Brussels, Lille and now Amsterdam!
They don't do breakfast at the hotel, but there's really no need, as there are lots of choices just a couple of minutes away (on foot).
We had such an amazing time, and we could not fault the hotel or the service we received, that we will definitely head back there over Easter if not before!
Can't wait!!

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review, Kay! All feedback is important to us.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you state, we are a few minutes' walk from King's Cross / St Pancras International, the London Underground, and the cross-rail network Thameslink.

We are located in a quiet square, a stone's throw from the hustle and bustle of central London

We are glad that you will be staying with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.

Book directly with us and we can offer you better terms and conditions, including the Best Available Rate (BAR) and upgrades to rooms subject to availability.

Regards
Manager, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

This was an inexpensive and very handy hotel for a short-term purpose. The staff were delightful and helpful in various ways. Recommended! Just around the corner from Kings Cross (the underground was on the next corner in fact) close to a really nice restaurant and to Burger King (we used both!) and a post office that sold everything, including niceondon souvenirs. The rooms are small but at that price we’re not complaining!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for staying with us, Chris, and thank you for your positive reviews. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback.
In case you are not aware, we are also a 5-minute walk from King's Cross International and a 7-minute walk from Thameslink.
If you book with us directly on your next visit, we can offer better terms and conditions.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Manager, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews