We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gin Palace!”

City of London Distillery
Ranked #51 of 1,871 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The City of London Distillery is a unique combination of a working gin distillery and a speakeasy style cocktail bar - called the COLD bar. We're open from 12:00 mid-day until 11 pm (Mon-Fri) and from 4 to 11 pm (Sat) and welcome visitors to take a tour of the distillery, enjoy a gin-tasting or masterclass, make their own bottle of gin in our distilling classes or just chill-out in the bar taking in the ambiance and aroma of gin that hangs in the air.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I loved this place. Down a flight of stairs in the City, there is a lovely old bar and little distillery. They do a very good range of very distinctive gins, and we tried as many as we could before common sense told us to stop. Each gin is seved in a distinctive glass with a tonic of choice, or there is a good range of cocktails to choose from. The waiters are very good as they keep you supplied with water to keep you hydrated. There are good snacks and cheese/meat boards

Thank Dave_Cowley_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrence186, General Manager at City of London Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

I'm Glad you enjoyed your time here at The City of London Distillery and Bar! We certainly hope we exceeded your expectations.
Looking forward to your next visit.

Many Thanks.

Joel Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gin making"
in 42 reviews
"gin and tonic"
in 40 reviews
"great gin"
in 22 reviews
"gin tour"
in 17 reviews
"lab experience"
in 21 reviews
"fleet street"
in 20 reviews
"tasting room"
in 6 reviews
"g ts"
in 5 reviews
"christopher wren"
in 14 reviews
"distilling process"
in 7 reviews
"london dry gin"
in 5 reviews
"pink grapefruit"
in 4 reviews
"square mile"
in 5 reviews
"informative tour"
in 9 reviews
"birthday treat"
in 6 reviews
"christmas present"
in 4 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 5 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

A really fun way to spend time with friends. Joel was a great host and was able to guide us safely in the right direction but also encouraging us to experiment with all the botanicals. Worth a trip.

Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrence186, General Manager at City of London Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your kind words and that you had a great time.

Many thanks,

Joel Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Fantastic night out, the host Joel was a star.
One of our most enjoyable evenings out, will definitely do it again!

Thank Phil246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrence186, General Manager at City of London Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your kind words, Glad you enjoyed the experience, we also enjoyed having you here.

Many thanks,

Joel Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Jake was our guide for the distillery tour and tasting. He was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and personable. I learned loads about the history of Gin and the distilling process. They’ve only been around since the end of 2012 but their Gin is already winning world wide recognition and awards. We had a welcome No 1 Gin on arrival and then four separate flights (including a Sloe Gin) during the 75 minute session. Cost per person is £25. Good value in my opinion. Enjoy

Thank stanhope10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrence186, General Manager at City of London Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank-you so much for your kind words and that you had a Gintastic!! time at the distillery. Yes Jake is very knowledgeable and an asset to us. We hope you had a memorable experience and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Joel Lawrence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Treated to a lesson about gin production in this superb venue. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. The gins very interesting in their differences to taste. The opportunity to sit and enjoy a large glass of our favourite and bring a bottle home. A great present!

Thank OXON111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrence186, General Manager at City of London Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words and we enjoyed having you. We hope you had a great birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City of London Distillery also viewed

 

Been to City of London Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing