We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #935 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 23, 2017

Pros

The hotel is a 2 minute stroll from Paddington Station. It is across the road from lots of restaurants and newsagent type shops so can always nick out for snacks and things like that. We were out of the room majority for the holiday so the closeness to the underground station suited us.

Even though the hotel is very very tired it is spotlessly clean. Our towels and loo roll tea coffee sachets etc were changed and replaced each day. initially we had two single beds seperated by a small bedside table but when we moved that and joined the beds together (with bf) they were kept like that for the duration of the week.

Staff seemed pleasant and were happy to hold onto our bags on the last day while we wandered about. I know lots of hotels do this but thought this was good of them.

There was a full breakfast offered at something like £5.65 but can't comment on it because we went out for breakfast each day as we were so central

Cons
Window looked out onto brick wall and was home to lots of pigeons. We had to keep the blinds closed as it is possible for the room diagonally across from us to see right in so they kept blinds closed too for privacy. This didn't bother us but would have been nice to see some kind of view rather than brick wall and pigeon poop.

All in all we got what we paid for. This hotel provided us with a warm bed and a private bathroom with bath and shower and suited our needs. We stayed for 4 nights and this was ideal - would stay again for another short trip and would consider upgrading to a more fancier hotel if staying for much longer just because we didn't get the best nights sleep as we could hear people getting in the lift, the lift going up and down and lots of talking and stuff from next door. Didn't bother us too much as we were tired out from the days of walking a lot but would have been nicer if it was a bit more sound proof.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs as walls are paper thin, if possible try not to get a room next to the lift as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 752 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2017

It was cheap and for what you pay you get the value I guess. Bed was old and tired, with a sprung matress that had seen much better days. The carpet was worn and stained. The fittimgs in the bathroom were old and tired too. The floor squeaked.Pillows were flat. Sorry, struggling to find much good to say. A bed for the night convenient to Paddington Station but there are much better accomodations nearby for not that much more.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gam8le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

Very tired . Desperate place. In need of a complete make over. Only good point its close to Paddington Station.

The toilets are a complete disgrace.

Carpets appear to be alive.

Frankly I cannot find a good thing to say. Its not even cheap.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

Good things first:The place ist well located und there ist no noise coming from the outside into the rooms on the backyard – but a lot of noise comes in from the corridor, because it creaks – and the door had a gap from at least 2 cm at the bottom. At all, the door did not fit into the frame, so we had an enlighted frame all the time and noise whenever someone passed the door. The ground inside was uneven, guess 3 layers above each over. The TV should have been sateliteprovided, but there was a string-antenna and it showed barely 3 stations, you could realy watch. The TV was a cube from I guess the seventies, showed 2/3 of the picture on a 15''-screen, bound to a platform with a luggage belt. Windowpains where unclean, the wooden windowsill is completly rotten, the ceiling there rusty. In the bathroom the flush did not work properly, did not supply sufficient water, we asked for repair twice but besides a hint, how we should manipulate the mechanic nothing happend. Breakfast was given – but there was no fresh fruit, no apple or banana, just canned peaches and grapefruit served in a nearly windowless basement.
To end with „good“ news: This was not the worst room in the hotel. The first one we've been offered was a room filled with 3 beds, a half-open window, which could not be moved in any direction an a bathroom beyond description – standard of 1930 or so … So we got this „upgrade“ to the room described.
Seems, they take all the money out and invest as little as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Werner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017

This weekend was the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We had a triple room (410) for the two of us. The room was spacious, warm and clean, there is also a hairdryer and kettle with coffee / tea for your use. The bed was nice and comfortable, both of us had a great nights sleep. Warm shower, clean towels on both days. English Breakfast not a bad price at £5.50 but it could have been a little warmer. Will stay again next time we visit London as it is close Paddington Station, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joolsmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chrysos Hotel
#684 of 1,077 in London
486 reviews
Dolphin Hotel
#614 of 1,077 in London
611 reviews
Fairways Hotel
#869 of 1,077 in London
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Gresham Hotel
#796 of 1,077 in London
653 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#426 of 1,077 in London
1,096 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Address: 29-33 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #935 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₱3,263 - ₱7,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Plaza London
Hotel Norfolk Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing