We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$141
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$279
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$184
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$152
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$152
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$154
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)
US$216
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,672)
Filter reviews
2,672 results
Traveler rating
1,799
560
177
82
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,799
560
177
82
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen parka park view roombuckingham palacemini barafternoon teathe main hotelsecret hotelnespresso machinehome from homepiccadilly circuslovely hotelupgraded to a suitehyde parkfive star hotellovely rooman upgradethe ritz
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,672 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family of three recently stayed at The Athenaeum for the second time in five years. It was exactly as we remembered: A lovely place that is well run with tremendous service, located a short walk, tube or cab ride from almost everything a family wants to see during five days in London. Our apartment this time was somewhat smaller and tighter than the last one, but we appreciated the tiny kitchenette, and our teenage son was, more or less, comfortable on the single bed placed in the sitting room.

Like so much of London, The Athenaeum is breathtakingly expensive, and the restaurant downstairs is pretentious and very, very slow. But it's hard to imagine a more convenient location, and the place, and the people who work there, do everything they can to make sure that you have a pleasant stay. We came back a second time; you probably would, too.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reattig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reattig,

Thank you for your lovely review of The Athenaeum & Residences. We are so pleased that our staff were helpful and that the hotel's staff and service met your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your experience in the Galvin restaurant further, please contact the hotel directly using gmoffice@athenaeumhotel.com. We are very sorry that you did not receive the service you should have, in the restaurant.

Warm Regards,

Wayne Kerrin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was top of the line. The room was small. and the first few days the view was terrible. However when we returned the following week room was the same size but the view was great. Location can't be beat.We loved the doorman service. They were great especially the very tall gentleman when we arrived both times. He remembered our names from the week before and in particular my granddaughter. She got kick out of that.All the amenities one would want.

Room Tip: ask for room with a park view.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear bigmendal,

Thank you so much for your lovely 5* review of The Athenaeum & Residences. I will pass on your comments to Jim, our doorman, he will be thrilled!

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Wayne Kerrin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Excellent hotel with friendly, efficient staff. Room well appointed and quiet even though on busy Piccadilly. Location super as I wanted to go to the West End and Theatre. Also well located for London sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Loulou515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Loulou515,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Athenaeum & Residences. Thank you for your lovely 5* review and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Wayne Kerrin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2018

The room that we had was rather small, especially the bathroom. Maybe because it was the first time we stayed there, we got a small room. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay especially due to the very friendly and helpfull staff at reception and the guys in the bar.
The proximity to Hyde Park and Harrods, as well as Shepherd's Market make the hotel an ideal base for shopping, relaxing and dining.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Patrick W,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Athenaeum & Residences. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel welcome.
The hotel is very lucky to have such a prime location and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Wayne Kerrin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Do not stay in the apartments: dark, outdated and depressing. We would have moved elsewhere but London was fully booked due to Wimbledon. Perhaps the hotel rooms are better, but apparently there are no adjoining rooms in the category I booked (which I was not informed about until the day before arrival, hence I could not make alternative arrangements.) When I complained, they told me they’d upgraded me to the apartments so I could get adjoining rooms. If the apartment I stayed in (ground floor, smelly, noisy old AC, used cotton bud at the doorway for 2 days) was an upgrade, I would not like to see the lessor category. For almost £500 per room per night the accommodation, service and facilities should have been far, far superior.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaeumHotelLondon, Manager at The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me. I am very disappointed to read that your stay was not as anticipated and truly wish this had been brought to our attention during your stay with us. I would appreciate your time to discuss your experience in greater detail, please contact me directly on 0207 499 3464 or via email kerrinw@athenaeumhotel.com.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Best wishes,
Wayne Kerrin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews