We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, good choices, pleasant staff”
Review of Sorrento In

Sorrento In
Reserve with OpenTable
Sorrento In is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 24,437 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A Neapolitan-style pizzeria situated at the heart of Norbury where you can enjoy authentic, fresh, Italian dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: A Neapolitan-style pizzeria situated at the heart of Norbury where you can enjoy authentic, fresh, Italian dishes.
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Had a group meal - Friday night. Whilst busy the staff were very attentative and pleasant. Good choice of mains quickly delivered

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pataird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina F, General Manager at Sorrento In, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Happy you had a pleasant experience - we hope to see you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

The absolute best pizza I’ve tasted outside of Naples. And better than 90% of the pizza I had in Naples too. Absolutely fantastic food, friendly service and entirely reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

Thank Gav_Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

I discovered this restaurant on tripadvisor roughly one week ago and have now been twice. I was waiting for the second visit before writing my review.

The first time I came with my brother and I was so blown away, that I arranged for my mum and brother's girlfriend to join us for another visit.

On our first visit we ordered a Bruschetta and Focacce Al Parmiggiano (garlic bread with cheese) and what arrived was simply wonderful! The focacce was sliced into thin strips to make eating it easier and it tasted simply divine! The bruschetta was delicious and seasoned to perfection and I was just blown away by the taste of all of it.

Unfortunately we didn't realise how ample the portion sizes were and had also each ordered a pizza. When the pizzas arrived, they were so big that I was sure I wouldn't eat it all but as soon as I took a bite of my Margherita, I was back in Italy and back in Sorrento. I found the flavour, the dough, the crust, the cheese, the sauce so authentic and incredible that it seemed to taste better and better after each bite. I can honestly say that it was the best pizza that I have eaten outside of Italy - and I finished the whole thing. My brother ordered the Ciliegina pizza and was as suitably impressed.

The following week I was back with my group of four - one of whom has food allergies to dairy, wheat and gluten. The staff could not have been more helpful and even before my brother's girlfriend arrived, the waiter asked who the person was with the food allergy. I was very impressed by this attention to detail, as I have experienced it not to be the case in other establishments.

We again ordered the Focacce Al Parmiggiano and also a Focacce All Aglio (plain garlic bread). Both again were sublime and we were all looking forward to trying some pasta dishes. My brother and I both ordered the Gnocchi Alla Sorrentina, my mum the pasta crab special from the special menu in the restaurant and my brother's girlfriend a gluten free Linguina Alla Sofia. My gnocchi was delicious and made me remember why I fell in love with the dish when I was in Sorrento; it's full of tomato and mozzarella and so very light and morerish. Everyone else thoroughly enjoyed their meals and all said that they would be back!

I wasn't so full this time and so opted for a dessert - the homemade Caprese Al Cioccolato with vanilla ice cream My brother's gf got a lemon sorbet. My cake was delicious, flaky and a true joy to eat. I would highly recommend it - in fact, I would highly recommend everything on the menu!

I would also like to make a point of how friendly and helpful the staff are. They are all smiles and no question is too much trouble. On our second visit, we were talking a while after our meal and did not realise that the restaurant shut at 4pm. They did not say anything to us (though I felt terrible when I realised) and even though we left at around 4.35, they didn't hurry us out the door like some other places might have. Just an absolute gem of a restaurant with excellent service and Italian charm.

I have searched high and low for an authentic pizza restaurant that ticks all the boxes (bonus that it also does incredible pasta) and now that I have found it down the round from me, I am very pleased indeed.

I highly recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

1  Thank Belle-Noel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina F, Manager at Sorrento In, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Beautiful, beautiful review. Thank you for taking the time to write this. We hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Authentic Italian food great wine good prices very small but can eat outside if not raining definitely recommend this restaurant they also do a take away too

Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My wife and I are blessed to live only five minutes walk away from this outstanding restaurant, so we visit as often as we can, as an evening at Sorrento In is like a visit to Italy, and we are made to feel like one of the family

Often the restaurant is crowded with Italian people, which tells you that it is authentic and gives the feeling of being in Italy - quiet and private it isn't, but it is the food that we go for, as it is made with pride and love by the amazing team both front-of-house, and also in the kitchen, backed with sharp service

In spite of being vegetarians, my wife and I are often have a real dilemma as to what to choose from the large choice available - Valentino's pizza's are indeed the best I have ever tasted, the salads crisp and fresh, and the pasta dishes home-made and outstanding, and, when I am far too full for anything else, Gelsomina's desserts tempt me back for just one more. And the excellent Menabrea beer and Italian wines are always a fine compliment to the meal

The only caution is that the secret is now out, and usually the restaurant is packed every evening, especially toward the weekend and if the weather is good, so do phone and book before you turn up. I have even seen queues outside the door at 10.30 at night, although I should stress this is not common

If you don't know where Norbury is (I didn't before moving there) it is only 20 minutes by train from Victoria, or two overground stops from the Balham Northern Line Tube, so if you live some distance away, it is easily accessible and well worth the effort to try this exceptional restaurant

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina F, Manager at Sorrento In, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you - it's always a pleasure having you and Veronica coming in. We await your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento In also viewed

 
London, England
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Sorrento In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing