We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$71
View deal
Expedia.comUS$71
Hotels.comUS$71
PricelineUS$80
Trip.comUS$71
TravelocityUS$71
Orbitz.comUS$71
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveler rating
162
155
95
69
127
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
162
155
95
69
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel coach trip bar prices the ritz fresh towels full english breakfast town centre couldn't do enough wowcher weekend entertainment sean bingo fab
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2021 via mobile

We visited for the weekend and would just like to say what a wonderful time we had . I think we could of drank them out of Prosecco and jäger but it’s the most fun we have had since all this covid thing started . The being greeted at the door and the offer of help and advice for parking was above and beyond.
We never expected there to be entertainment so this was a added bonus and we literally spent all weekend in in their bar as there was no need to go out it was so warm and friendly like being one of the family.
I can’t even tell you how friendly this place is and how helpful they were . Always on hand at the door opening it , helping us in with bags etc and even putting up with our party in the bar.
Breakfast was also spot on and very much needed.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bigbirdgonemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

Just returned from the Melville Hotel. We went with Harry Shaw Travel for a 4 night stay. The hotel is located at the side of the Winter Gardens, which is a great location for accessing the tower etc, just 2 minutes walk and you are in the Hounds hill shopping centre. The hotel has great kerb appeal, being the best presented hotel in the street. The public areas in the hotel are decorated to a decent standard, but some of the furnishings are dated, tired and need replacing. Where this hotel stands out, is the staff. They are friendly, very helpful, and nothing is to much trouble. I would like to mention Jolie who works on reception, waitressing, carries cases (Super Woman) she has a very bubbly personality, and is great asset to the hotel. Liam and Callum work well together, serving in the dinning room. Liam is very caring, and helps people who are unable to walk very well, and is always ready to sought out any problems. Jordan the bar manager was great. "Missing the Happy hour already". The bar prices are very good, and entertainment was provided on every night of are stay. The full english breakfast was great, and portion sizes are good. You did only have a choice of 2 options for all 3 courses of your evening meal, but they were good homemade English dishes. On one night we did not like the 2 dishes, but the chef kindly cooked us something different. There was a handful of people on our coach, who was always moaning about the hotel. You cannot please everyone? Yes the hotel is not perfect, but for a budget hotel in Blackpool, I feel the exceptional staff make it a better choice. Well done everybody, and a big thank you to Shaun who is always willing to help you. I will be returning next year, but don't compare this hotel, to a 5 star hotel, or you will be disappointed.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank johnv364
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2021

7 family members stopped here for a 4 night midweek break at the start of Sept 2021. I found the staff very friendly and helpful, particularly Liam who was a star. The food was fine and there was a lot of choice. People should remember this is a 2 star hotel and if they want 5 star luxury they should pay 5 star prices. Rooms were on the small side, but no problem as they were very clean. The hotel was suffering from staff shortages as was the rest of Blackpool (indeed probably a lot of the UK), but they all tried so hard to make our break a good one and succeeded. The hoel is situated right by the tower so is in a great location. Well done everyone at the Melville and thanks for our lovely stay

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank luckychance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

Returned home yesterday after 4 nights in the Melville hotel staff were very pleasant and very helpful, we only booked breakfast and it was plentiful ,it is ideally situated for walking to the promenade ,we will definitely return as Blackpool is one of our favourite places.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lloydddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2021

We booked the Melville as it is close to the Winter Gardens which we were attending for the twice rearranged annual dance festival. Started off badly with reception saying we had two rooms booked. Room not ready so hung about with others in crowded lounge will all the luggage. Advised to go up to room but still not ready, Had to have carpet hoovered as covered in rubbish. Lots of foul language from cleaning staff directed at reception. Toilet was disgusting. The word "tired" would not describe a room so small we could barely move around in it. Wallpaper faded and peeling in places. Carpet threadbare and worn. The wardrobe, chest of drawers and one bedside cabinet would not have been accepted by a charity shop. No chest on one side of the bed instead a footstool! Returning from our evenings out we had the joy of negotiating the hotel steps with people sitting there drinking, sometimes with children. Not sure if they were residents or locals.
Breakfast was from 8.30-9.30 which meant a rush at 8.30. Staff were obviously over worked but were surprisingly polite and friendly. However there were mistakes in our orders. The food when it came was reasonable. Learned our lesson and booked somewhere more luxurious for next year.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews